splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

Author Interview: Rebecca Thomas

As her latest fantastic book, Her Alaskan Hero, is launched, Rebecca very kindly agreed to be interviewed – thank you, Rebecca! 783e8-2013-rebeccathomas

Where did you get the inspiration for the series?

My inspiration for this story has been twofold; I do have a unique perspective of Alaska because my husband is a private pilot, and I’ve been fortunate enough to do a lot of flying around the state. A couple trips to the Brooks Range got me thinking about the beauty and remoteness of the area and how most people never get north of the Arctic Circle. Wouldn’t it be fantastic to have a lodge situated in the heart of this area, in a little town, with quirky characters? Travis Forrester was the first brother in the Alaskan Hero series to be born in my head because he’s a pilot, but I knew he had a big loving family. It didn’t take long for his brothers to start emerging in my head as well, so Zak, Ethan, and Dane evolved.

What is your writing process?

I’d love to say I have this fantastic writing process, but really I don’t. I work a day job, I have an active family and my writing comes secondary to those things. I have spurts of being really good and getting up early to write in the morning before my day starts, but I don’t always stick to that.

Do you write using pen and paper or on a computer?

I write ideas and outlines on paper, but the actually story writing is done on my laptop.

Who is your favourite character out of your stories and why? e1286-heralaskanhero1

Oh no, that’s like asking who’s your favourite child—I couldn’t do that! However, I can tell you what makes each Forrester brother special to me. I love Zak because he’s a first born child (like me) and a rule follower. We firstborn’s can’t help ourselves, we like rules and we like to follow them. But I think the right woman in his life will make him less rigid, enjoy life more, and be able to color outside the lines a bit. I love Ethan because he’s so good, and yet he’s so broken. I love Travis because he’s forged his own path and made his own rules in life. I love Dane because he’s portrayed himself as a bad-boy because that’s the public image he wants, but inside he’s a softie.

If you were a character in your story, which would you like to be?

I would totally love to be Zak, Ethan, Travis, and Dane’s little sister because I think it would be so cool to have them as older brothers! 

How and why did you choose the names for your main characters?

I’m terrible about choosing names. I know some writers spend all kinds of time researching names, but I don’t. I honestly just pull them out of my head. However, I couldn’t think of Zak’s name for the longest time, nothing seemed to fit. So I asked my youngest son for a name and he chose Zak. The minute he said Zak, I thought it was perfect. Sabrina was a name I have always liked. I do select last names based on if it sounds good with the first name.

About Rebecca Thomas
Rebecca Thomas enjoys a love-hate relationship with Alaska. She lives there with her bush pilot husband and two teenaged sons. When she isn’t reading, writing, or playing board games, she is cheering for her sons at their hockey games and tennis matches.

A reluctant reader as a child, she didn’t become interested in books until her teen years when she discovered historical romance. Now she loves all sub-genres of romance and can’t decide which one is her favorite.

Rebecca earned a bachelor’s degree in Education from the University of Alaska and was employed in the airline industry for several years before working in her current position as a program manager in a higher education.

Facebook | Twitter | Amazon | Goodreads | Google+ | Tumblr | Newsletter | Website
I thoroughly enjoyed reading ‘Her Alaskan Hero’ and volunteered to share my 5* review as part of a blog tour and rafflecopter giveaway – take a look at it by clicking on this link!
9 comments on “Author Interview: Rebecca Thomas

  1. Pingback: Blog Tour: Her Alaskan Hero by Rebecca Thomas | splashesintobooks

  2. Pingback: Book Blitz: Right Kind of Mistake by Rebecca Thomas | splashesintobooks

  3. Pingback: Review: Right Kind of Mistake by Rebecca Thomas | splashesintobooks

  4. Pingback: Review: Sweet Home Alaska by Rebecca Thomas | splashesintobooks

  5. Pingback: Review: The Earl’s Christmas Colt by Rebecca Thomas | splashesintobooks

  6. Pingback: My Top Ten Posts for 2015 | splashesintobooks

  7. Pingback: Review: Right Kind of Mistake 2 by Rebecca Thomas | splashesintobooks

  8. Pingback: Review: Melting His Alaskan Heart by Rebecca Thomas | splashesintobooks

  9. Pingback: Review revisited: The Earl’s Christmas Colt by Rebecca Thomas | splashesintobooks

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 26, 2015 by in Author Interview and tagged , , , , , , .

Monthly archive of posts

