splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

Blog Tour: Gold Coast Blues by Marc Krulewitch

goldcoastbluesbannerAbout the Book:

Title: Gold Coast Blues

Author: Marc Krulewitch

Genre: Mystery

In Marc Krulewitch’s gritty new mystery, perfect for readers of Robert Crais and Marcia Muller, a beautiful missing woman and a mysterious wine lead Chicago shamus Jules Landau straight toward a killer with very bad taste.

Jules Landau’s father was mobbed up, as was his father before him. Jules takes a different path: He’s a licensed private eye, currently collecting his paycheck in cash from a young ex-con looking for his missing girlfriend, Tanya. But as Jules scours Chicago’s North Side, he realizes that any number of people might want to make sure Tanya stays gone. At the heart of her disappearance seems to be a thriving black market for expensive French wine—a vintage so lucrative that Tanya may have paid for it with her life.

Following a trail of cash and power with more twists than a corkscrew, Jules traces a criminal conspiracy back to a corrupt New Jersey cop. With nobody telling the truth, Jules knows he has to act fast . . . because a perfect crime only gets better with age.Marc Krulewitch

Author Bio

Marc Krulewitch’s Jules Landau mysteries take place in Chicago, where he was born and where his family has lived for generations. He now resides in Colorado.

Links

Website   |   Twitter   |   Facebook   |   Amazon author page 

Buy the Book:

Amazon   |   B&N   |   Books-a-Million   |   Google Play   |   iBooks   |   Penguin Random House   

My review:

9780804177696This is the first book I’ve read by this author and I have to say I’m impressed! The lead character in the story is Jules Landeau and boy does he have a checkered past! His father and grandfather were both in the mob but he’s mainly keeping on the straight and narrow, working as a PI and using his contacts and background knowledge to help him crack cases that would thwart others. He’s an engaging character, well developed, interesting and easy to relate to.

The focus for his current investigation is the girlfriend of an ex-con who has recently been released from prison. The lady concerned is Tanya and it seems that the boyfriend and Jules aren’t the only folk looking for her, she may have a very good reason for disappearing! As the search continues, with an unbelievable number of  unforeseen twists and turns, things are revealed making this a tantalising and engaging read, definitely a good one for anyone who likes their mysteries with a touch of mob and taste of good wine (perhaps!). I’ll certainly look out for more by this author in future!

Thanks to the author, publisher and NetGalley, too, for letting me read an ARC of this book in exchange for this, an honest review.

One comment on “Blog Tour: Gold Coast Blues by Marc Krulewitch

  1. Viginia McLeod
    September 25, 2015

    Its such as you read my mind! You seem to grasp so
    much about this, such as you wrote the e-book in it or something.
    It is an excellent blog. A fantastic read. I will certainly be back.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Information

This entry was posted on September 22, 2015 by in Blog Tour and tagged , .

Monthly archive of posts

%d bloggers like this: