splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

Guest Post: Veronica Forand

Everyone has different inspirations, read on to see what inspires Veronica Forand to write!

Untrue ColoursTop Five Things That Inspire Me To Write

By Veronica Forand

  1. Reading a well crafted story challenges me to create a better story, a more intriguing plot, and more interesting characters. Susan Elizabeth Phillips has been my main inspiration for years and as I slide into thrillers, I appreciate Lee Child’s books.
  2. Coffee. Something about a hot cup of coffee makes me want to curl up in a blanket with my laptop and escape into my imagination.
  3. A fall day. I associate autumn with soccer games and the start of school. I still play soccer, and I love feeling like a tweed wearing academic in my study, doing research and editing my work, but dressed in flannel pjs.

  4. A log cabin.
    I started my first novel in a cabin in Minnesota and now I hide away in a cabin in Vermont when I need to work in peace. Must be the wilderness all around me.
  5. Silence. My characters have varying emotions, and they can change from happy to furious in the middle of a scene. When I write to music, I lean into the sounds and True Deceptions COVERfollow the emotion that the music provides. If I need to find a mood, I’ll listen to one song to give me a start and then move into silence so the emotions can flow wherever they need to go.


Thank you so much for agreeing to do this guest post on my blog, Veronica!

I have read and reviewed two of Veronica’s novels – ‘Untrue Colours‘ and her latest, ‘True Deceptions‘, which is actually published today (October 19th, 2015). Additionally, I have participated in the Blog Tour: True Deceptions by Veronica Forand, which includes a rafflecopter giveaway which runs from October 19th – October 30th, 2015.

authorphoto_VeronicaForandAbout Veronica Forand:

A Bostonian by birth, Veronica Forand regrettably lost her Boston accent while moving from state to state and country to country. Cleveland probably had the most profound effect on her ability to pronounce the “r” in the word “park.”

She does try to return now and then to visit family and eat long neck clams and lobster. Summers on Cape Cod are also high on the priority list.

Her experience in crime involves time as a court appointed attorney. Eventually, she switched fields to where bigger crimes take place, corporate tax. The allure of spending mornings in her pajamas homeschooling her children and writing fascinating fiction caused her to change careers again. Now that the kids are out of the house (in school), she writes romantic thrillers by day and is the perfect wife and mother at night.

Her experience in romance is limited to one man. Luckily, he’s still finding ways to charm her by taking her on vacations to the south of France, Fiji, and the Green Mountains when time is short. Avid travelers, they love to roam with their kids across continents in pursuit of skiing, scuba diving, and the perfect piece of chocolate.

She’s lived in London, Paris, Geneva, Washington D.C., and the accent destroying city of Cleveland. She currently resides near Philadelphia.

Connect with Veronica: Website | Facebook | Twitter | Amazon | Goodreads

Thanks to Barclay Publicity for helping organise this post.

barclay publicity

4 comments on “Guest Post: Veronica Forand

  1. veronicaforand
    October 19, 2015

    I enjoyed being part of your blog today!

    Like

    • bicted
      October 19, 2015

      Thank you – I really enjoyed reading ‘True Deceptions’ and ‘Untrue Colours’ – both are superb thrillers and great reads!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Cover Reveal: True Peril by Veronica Forand | splashesintobooks

  3. Pingback: Review: True Peril by Veronica Forand | splashesintobooks

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 19, 2015 by in Guest Post and tagged , , .

Monthly archive of posts

