splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

Blog Tour+Review: Ice Moon by Lisa Kessler

IM_TourBanner

Ok, so I admit to continuing to stalk this author and her publisher looking out for when the next book in this series will be available – and then I get in as quick as I can to get a copy to read! Considering the number of books I’ve been reading lately, that should be a great indicator of how highly I appreciate the whole series and this is another great addition to it. Read on to find out about this book, my review, an excerpt, about the author, a rafflecopter giveaway and links to other posts on this blog concerning this author and her books!

Blurb:

Jared Ayers works outdoors, embracing a solitary life, hiding from his inner demons. But after so many of his Pack brothers have found their mates, he starts wondering if there might be a mate in his future too. His world turns upside down after he’s hired by the “Ice Queen of Lake Tahoe”. One touch is all it takes. One touch to send the wolf howling within…

A gifted psychic with pyrokinesis, Taryn Goldstone wields fire beyond her control– sometimes with dire consequences. With Jason, she discovers that some flames are meant for passion–and healing. She has enemies who covet her powerful gift, but they are about to learn just how far a wolf will go to protect his mate.

Book Links:

Amazon   |   B&N   |   iTunes    |   Kobo    |   Entangled    |   Goodreads

My Review:

Jared is the member of the pack who is the star of this story. He became a carpenter after traumatic events in his past, leaving his twin to become the doctor he also originally intended training to be. He’s been hired to help a local realtor, Taryn Goldstone, to carry out home improvements. She’s nicknamed the “Ice Queen of Lake Tahoe” and usually avoids any physical contact with anyone – including her young son. When Jared and she touch, it is like lighting a flame. It turns out she’s a psychic who burns everything around her when out of control. She’s so scared of her own ability, she’s largely isolated herself to protect everyone she cares about. Jared, however, knows she’s his mate and is determined to help her gain control of her gifts and to make her his. Unfortunately, Nero are not far behind, coming for her again and her young son has a secret she hasn’t yet discovered, too . . . .

Superb – the historic involvement of Nero and the pack revelations (no, not telling you what) are definitely unexpected! A new gifted psychic, another threat to the pack and another romance, wow, what an action packed story! I couldn’t put it down . . . . the characters may well be paranormal and highly talented but their interactions, emotions and lives are portrayed in a brilliant manner, suspending disbelief to take the reader on their journey through life, complete with all the drama, turmoil and love that goes with it. I’m so happy to have been able to read an ARC of this, thanks to the author, publishers and NetGalley for giving me the opportunity to do so. Only problem now is I can’t wait for Blue Moon, the sequel, to be released, too, so sorry, the stalking will continue!

I have no hesitation in highly recommending this (and the other books in the series) to anyone who enjoys to read a mix of genres, including an on-going thriller, suspense, romance, paranormal and mystery, too, in a superbly crafted story where the novels do follow on and add to the developing saga but may also be read as a standalone. 

Excerpt:

She smiled, a bashful, real, breathtaking smile that warmed my entire body. I gripped the door tighter to keep from touching her and breaking the spell.

“Before you go…I need to ask. This is really awkward, and I’ll pay you for your time.” She cleared her throat. “It’s just for show, for my company.”

I raised a brow. “Sounds great so far.”

She rolled her eyes. “My firm sponsors the annual Masquerade Ball here in Tahoe every year, and this time I promised my new community relations manager I would go.”

She stared up at me like she expected me to say something. Problem was, I had no clue what she was talking about.

“And you need me to…build a stage or…?”

Color flushed her chest. I could almost feel the heat on my skin. 

“No, I need you to be my date.” I struggled to keep my jaw off the floor while she backpedaled.

“Not like a real date. It’s just that tickets are sold per couple, so I can’t go alone, and I don’t want to involve Charlie. I wouldn’t ask, but you probably guessed I don’t really hang out with people. There’s no one else for me to ask. We wouldn’t have to stay long and you’ll be paid for the time…”

“Yes.” Without thinking, I placed my finger over her lips to quiet her and be sure she heard me. My heart stuttered the instant I touched her skin, and deep inside of me, my wolf howled. The lights brightened as my pupils dilated and contracted. I blinked hard and shook my head. What the hell… “Don’t pay me. I’ll go because I want to, not because it’ll help your business.”

I dropped my hand, half expecting her to slap me, but she didn’t move away. A fine line creased between her eyebrows. “Are you all right?”

That definitely depended on her definition.

From the depths of my soul, my wolf recognized her. Taryn was my mate. Mine. This cool, distant woman, with another wolf’s child. And yet, maybe I’d sensed it before. Maybe that was why I took this job up the goddamn Mt. Rose highway just as winter was coming in. Had I been drawn to her and her little boy?

I stared down into her eyes, my voice barely a whisper. “If I stay here any longer, I’m not going to be able to stop myself from kissing you.”

Her throat bobbed as she swallowed, but she didn’t back away. Her blue eyes searched mine. “I don’t want to hurt you.”

“You won’t.” I closed the distance between us, my lips claiming hers. Light burst behind my eyelids as I carefully slid my arms around her. Her body was warm right through my clothes, and while her kiss started out tentative, gradually she returned my caresses and her hands glided up over my chest, until I smoldered to have her even closer.

Suddenly, she pushed me away. I let her go, struggling to catch my breath. Her eyes welled with tears. Shit. Had I scared her somehow?

She shook her head. “This was a bad idea.”

“Nothing about that was bad.”

Her fingers trembled at her sides. Without my heightened sense of hearing, I never would have been able to make out her words. “Look at your shirt.”

I tipped my head down and frowned. There were two brown streaks on the front of my shirt, like I’d left an iron on it too long. The heat I’d imagined from her touch hadn’t been in my imagination.

“This is why you don’t like to be touched.”

She didn’t acknowledge me, just took another step away. “I’m sorry, Jared. I can’t explain, just…just go.”

I glanced down the hall. “That’s why you keep your distance with Charlie.”

“Walk away, Jared.”

I shook my head. “I’m not afraid.”

Her eyes narrowed. “You should be.”

Author Bio:d909e-lisakessler-150x150

Lisa Kessler is an award winning author of dark paranormal fiction. Her debut novel, Night Walker, won a San Diego Book Award for Best Published Fantasy-Sci-fi-Horror as well as the Romance Through the Ages Award for Best Paranormal and Best First Book.

Her short stories have been published in print anthologies and magazines, and her vampire story, Immortal Beloved, was a finalist for a Bram Stoker award.

When she’s not writing, Lisa is a professional vocalist, performing with the San Diego Opera as well as other musical theater companies in San Diego.

Author Links:

Website    |   Twitter    |   Facebook    |   Goodreads    |   Newsletter 

Rafflecopter Link: http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/1cb55495664/

This author has featured on my blog several times – here are links to her books, interview, etc!:

Blood Moon by Lisa Kessler

Hunter’s Moon by Lisa Kessler

Across the Veil by Lisa Kessler

Release Day Blitz for Harvest Moon

Review: Harvest Moon by Lisa Kessler

Author Interview: Lisa Kessler

Thanks to Entangled Publishing for organising this Blog Tour and providing many of the materials for this post – though the review is my own, honest opinion!

2 comments on “Blog Tour+Review: Ice Moon by Lisa Kessler

  1. Lisa Kessler
    November 17, 2015

    Thanks for reviewing Ice Moon!!!

    I’m so glad you enjoyed the book! 🙂

    Lisa

    Like

  2. Pingback: Offer: Beg Me To Slay by Lisa Kessler | splashesintobooks

Leave a Reply

Monthly archive of posts

