splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

Review: Death Before Decaf: A Java Jive Mystery by Caroline Fardig

Title: Death Before Decaf: A Java Jive MysteryDeath Before Decaf

Author: Caroline Fardig

Publisher: Random House Publishing Group, Alibi

Size: 296 pages

Release Date: November 17th, 2015

Rating: 5/5

My Review:

What a brilliant, light hearted read this is, despite being a murder mystery! Just great for when you’ve had enough of darker reads but still want something with a great plot, humour and plenty of intrigue in a well written, page-turner story.

I was impressed by how the author used flashbacks to fill in the history of the main characters, Juliet and Peter, explaining their re-connection and Juliet’s return to Nashville and his business. Gertie is another brilliantly portrayed stalwart character in the Java Jive and her ‘boyfriend’ is the third in the love triangle for Juliet and Peter, though he really is a mystery in his own right for much of the story.

There are many laugh out loud moments in this story, especially (would you believe it!) at the funeral of the murdered victim. The well thought out plot carries the suspicion, danger and intrigue throughout the story and the ending and big reveal of the perpetrators was a twist I hadn’t been anticipating.

I really enjoyed this great mystery with suspense, thrills and romance all encapsulated in an enthralling, laugh out loud, entertaining and well developed story. This is the first of a new series and I will certainly be looking out for further stories in the series and others by this author. I have no hesitation in highly recommending it to anyone who enjoys any of the genres.

Thanks to the author, publisher and NetGalley, too, for letting me read an ARC of this book in exchange for this, an honest review.

Synopsis:

Perfect for fans of Janet Evanovich and Diane Mott Davidson, Caroline Fardig’s captivating new mystery novel takes readers behind the counter of a seemingly run-of-the-mill coffeehouse . . . where murder is brewing.

After her music career crashes and burns spectacularly, Juliet Langley is forced to turn to the only other business she knows: food service. Unfortunately, bad luck strikes yet again when her two-timing fiancé robs her blind and runs off with her best waitress. Flushing what’s left of her beloved café down the toilet with her failed engagement, Juliet packs up and moves back to her college stomping grounds in Nashville to manage an old friend’s coffeehouse. At first glance, it seems as though nothing’s changed at Java Jive. What could possibly go wrong? Only that the place is haemorrhaging money, the staff is in open revolt, and Juliet finds one unlucky employee dead in the dumpster out back before her first day is even over.

The corpse just so happens to belong to the cook who’d locked horns with Juliet over the finer points of the health code. Unimpressed with her management style, the other disgruntled employees are only too eager to spill the beans about her fiery temper to the detective on the case. Add to the mix a hunky stranger who’s asking way too many questions, and suddenly Juliet finds herself in some very hot water. If she can’t simmer down and sleuth her way to the real killer, she’s going to get burned.

This book is available from a variety of sources including

amazon.co.uk           amazon.com          barnes and noble

Advertisements

2 comments on “Review: Death Before Decaf: A Java Jive Mystery by Caroline Fardig

  1. Pingback: Review: A Whole Latte Murder by Caroline Fardig | splashesintobooks

  2. Pingback: Review: Brew or Die by Caroline Fardig | splashesintobooks

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Monthly archive of posts

%d bloggers like this: