splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

Review: Round and Round by Terry Tyler

Title: Round and RoundRound and Round

Author and Publisher: Terry Tyler

Pages: 136

Date of Publication: July 22nd, 2014

Rating: 5/5

My Review:

I love this brilliant, delightfully different novella! Most folks seem to panic and reevaluate their life choices as significant birthdays approach and, in this case, Sophie Heron’s fortieth birthday is going to prove to be more significant than most! If only we could all have guidance from an Aunt Flick, a personal guardian angel, to show us the future results of our choices to help us make ones that promise long term happiness . . . Sophie looks back on the choices she made and reconsiders what she wants and who she wants to be with in future.

It felt like Sophie is a personal best friend, having a chat to tell me about everything, valuing my opinion and trusting me with secrets from her past and dreams for her future. It was an enthralling read, showing the potential impact of choices made in the past on the present and future well being of individuals. The author is highly skilled at making it easy to empathise with Sophie and to feel her angst and turmoil at life and the choices she has made and is facing now. . . . . and the ending is brilliant!

I have no hesitation in highly recommending this superbly entertaining, well written page turner to anyone who enjoys stories which grip your imagination and take you into the life of a character at a significant turning point in her life. I will definitely be looking out for more stories by this author in future and wish to express my sincere thanks to her for gifting me an ecopy of this book in exchange for this, my honest review.

Synopsis:

Four Valentine cards – from four different men!

Sophie Heron’s fortieth birthday is looming, and she is fed up with her job, her relationship, her whole life – not to mention her boyfriend’s new ‘hobby’, in which she definitely doesn’t want to get involved…

Back in 1998 she had the choice of four men, and now she can’t help wondering how her life might have turned out if she’d chosen differently.

The person to whom Sophie had always been closest was her beloved Auntie Flick, her second mother, friend and advisor. Before her death in 2001, Flick said, “when I’m up there having a cuppa with St Peter, I’ll have a word with him about making me your guardian angel, shall I?”

As Sophie’s fortieth birthday draws near, she visits her aunt’s special place: a tree by a river, hidden from the world. Here she calls on Auntie Flick to show her the way forward – and help her look back into the past so she can see what might have been…

This book is available from a variety of sources including

amazon.co.uk           amazon.com  

3 comments on “Review: Round and Round by Terry Tyler

  1. Terry Tyler
    January 20, 2016

    Elaine, thank you so, so much for this wonderful review. It brought a tear to my eye, I am over the moon that you liked it so much (and, oh dear, I think I might have chosen Seb..!)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. bicted
    January 20, 2016

    My pleasure! I might have done the same but so glad she didn’t when we saw the potential consequences! Really loved how you did that, thoroughly enjoyed reading it though it does get you thinking about the impact of choices you’ve made yourself, too!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 17, 2016 by in Adult and tagged , , , , , , , , , .

Monthly archive of posts

