splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

Guest Post: Adventures in Travelling by Kira Archer

Loving Her CrazyIn my newest release, Loving Her Crazy, Iris and Nash get stuck overnight in snowed-in Chicago. They make the best of their situation by having some fun and sexy site-seeing adventures. While I’ve never hooked up with a hot cowboy I met at the airport, I have had my fair share of lost luggage, cancelled or overbooked flights, and horrific seat companions while traveling.

I think the best travel catastrophies (that thankfully ended happily) surrounded my wedding. My husband and I met online. He was my cousin’s best friend and while chatting with my cousin online one night, my future hubs joined in the convo and chatted with us. That led to a month of emailing which led to a 6 hour long phone conversation. The next day, during another insanely long phone call, we decided it would be hilarious to freak everyone out and get married. This was in Oct of 2000. We met each other face-to-face for the first time when he came out to visit me for Thanksgiving. I flew out to see him for Christmas, and by Feb, I’d moved to Utah to be near him while we finalized the wedding arrangements.

We were going to be married in Tennessee, where my family was mostly located. So a week before the wedding I flew home to start the final preparations. The hubs was going to drive out a few days later in his truck so he could haul the rest of my belongings home with us. He made it to Kansas before his truck broke down. Two days before our wedding.

Luckily, my parents had some friends who had just moved to Kansas. They picked him up on the side of the road and took him to the airport where he was able to get a last minute flight into Nashville. Several hours later, he called me from the plane. Which had been grounded due to weather. Several of our wedding guests, including his mother and two children, were also hovering in the skies or landing everywhere BUT Nashville.

At this point I was pretty sure we’d have to skip the wedding. I was hoping he’d at least make it to the reception which was the day following our wedding and then maybe we could find a judge somewhere to marry us real quick.

Thankfully, the weather cleared a few hours later and he made it in the wee hours of the morning the day before our wedding. The rest of our guests also made it; a little tired and much later than anticipated. But everyone was present when we said our I-dos 🙂

We rented a moving van with a car trailer and picked up his truck from an auto shop that had pronounced it DOA on our way back to Utah. By the way, I would not recommend a 2000 mile road trip in a moving van hauling a broken down pickup truck on a trailer designed for a car as a good choice for a honeymoon. But that’s another story 😉

Kira ArcherAbout Kira:
Kira Archer resides in Pennsylvania with her husband, two kiddos, and far too many animals in the house. She tends to laugh at inappropriate moments, break all the rules she gives her kids (but only when they aren’t looking), and would rather be reading a book than doing almost anything else. She has odd, eclectic tastes in just about everything and often lets her imagination run away with her. She loves her romances a little playful, a lot sexy, and always with a happily ever after.

Come hang out with her! Facebook | Fan Page | Twitter | Website | Pinterest

2 comments on “Guest Post: Adventures in Travelling by Kira Archer

  1. Lindsey Paley
    January 28, 2016

    Sounds like a great read! It’s on my TBR list! Lindsey

    Liked by 1 person

  2. bicted
    January 28, 2016

    I really enjoyed it – hope you do, too!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 25, 2016 by in Guest Post and tagged , , , , , .

Monthly archive of posts

