splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

Review: Gifted Thief by Helen Harper

Title:   Gifted Thief, Highland Magic #1 Gifted Thief

Author: Helen Harper

Publisher: Harper Fire

Pages: 348

Date of Publication: January 29th, 2016

Rating: 4.5/5

My Review:

What an intriguing mix of contemporary and fantasy this novel proved to be! Set in Scotland, the Sidhe are the ruling class, with varying magical Gifts, belonging to Clans and looking down on humans and the Clanless. When the orphaned child, Integrity, being brought up in the home of the Bull has had enough, runs away and is rescued by Taylor she turns her back on the Sidhe and becomes a very talented thief. She grows up in age and talent and is happy until the Sidhe appear in her life again and things will never be the same for her or those close to her as she starts to learn more about her birth family and clan.

This is an epic adventure story, with a delectable mix of daring, magic, mystery, intrigue, double dealing, deception and so much more! Well written, with a superb range of amazing characters, it is a riveting read that I thoroughly enjoyed and have no hesitation in highly recommending. There are plenty of surprising twists and turns in this story to keep you enthralled and amazed as the story progresses. Even though the story works well as a standalone, I really want to read the sequel as soon as possible!

Thanks to the author, publisher and NetGalley, too, for letting me read an ARC of this book in exchange for this, an honest review.

Synopsis:

Orphan. Runaway. Thief. Since the moment I was ripped from my mother’s womb, I’ve been an outcast amongst my own kind. The Sidhe might possess magical Gifts, unbelievable wealth and unfathomable power but I don’t want a thing to do with them. I ran away from their lands in the Highlands of Scotland when I was eleven years old and I’ve never looked back. I don’t need a Clan. I’ve got my own family of highly skilled thieves who mean more to me than any Sidhe ever could. Unfortunately for me, the playboy heir to the Moncrieffe Clan has something I desperately need. To get it back, I’m going to have to plunge myself back into that world, no matter what the consequences may be. I suppose it’s just as well I have sense of humour. I think I’m going to need it. By bestselling author Helen Harper, Gifted Thief is the first book in the Highland Magic series.

This book is available from a variety of sources including

amazon.co.uk           amazon.com          barnes and noble

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 2, 2016 by in Adult, YA and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Monthly archive of posts

