splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

Guest Post: What I Didn’t Know by Roni Hall

MontanaWild400AfterRoniHall-Headshots-14 reading and reviewing Montana Wild by Roni Hall, the author very kindly agreed to do a special guest post on my blog – I love it! Read it for yourself to see just why it brought a big smile to my face!

What I Didn’t Know

The summer after high school graduation, I worked two jobs to pay for nursing school. During the midnight shift as a waitress, a charismatic young man at the counter flirted with me for hours as he consumed seven cups of coffee.

For the next month, the hot guy visited the restaurant on my shift flirting with me enough to earn warnings from my boss. At this point I began to believe that he liked the coffee but not me. Why hadn’t he asked me out?

Finally, one night about 3:30am, he shyly asked, “You don’t want to go for a motorcycle ride in the morning, do you?”

“YES!” I almost screamed in reply. Finally!

I got off work at 7am and he was to pick me up at 7:30. I flew home, changed and waited by the door.

I waited…and waited…and waited. No call, no doorbell. I had been up all night working. After an hour I went to bed. Three hours later the telephone rang. It was HIM.

“I fell asleep. I am so sorry. Can I pick you up now?”

My better judgment told me to cancel but I had waited 30 days for this and I wasn’t about to miss it.

Ten minutes later he was at my doorstep. White tee shirt, jeans, long hair, beard, and motorcycle. I still remember the look on my mother’s face . . .  NOT GOOD!

What did my mother know? What could go wrong?

What I didn’t know

He didn’t even own a motorcycle. After I accepted his invite, he rushed to his best friend’s house and ‘borrowed’ his motorcycle.

Within minutes he cut off a metro city bus.

What I didn’t know

He had little motorcycle experience. He had never ridden a passenger before.

Twenty miles out of the city he pulled into a deserted wooded cemetery as my brain screamed ‘serial killer!’

What I didn’t know

His grandparents were buried there. 

What I didn’t know

The weather forecast! The sky turned black and the clouds opened up with a torrential downpour as we ran out of gas on the freeway. I stayed with the bike as he hiked to the nearest gas station.

What I didn’t know

Motorcycles have a reserve tank, so we weren’t really out of gas…he just didn’t know that.

I barely got home in time to dry off and get ready for a concert date with my boyfriend. (Before you think me a total b#*@!, . . . our high school relationship was on the final days of breaking up and the concert tickets were bought far in advance.)

What I didn’t know

I had just spent my first day with my future best friend and husband.

Like Jamie in Montana Wild, whose insides screamed, warning her of what could happen if she traveled to Montana, I was unsure. And luckily like Jamie, I listened to my gut. Don’t worry about what you don’t know. It was one hell of an adventurous ride and changed my life forever!

Kiss life in the face!

Roni

Montana Wild MontanaWild400

Spiraling downward after losing two loved ones within one week, Jamie’s world was closing in…until she grabs an unexpected lifeline and escapes. Knowing only New York City, Montana is another world and she is unprepared by how the land, the people and even the animals touch her. After risking her life to save a child, Jamie shares an undeniable bond and the beginning ripples of deep emotions with her co-rescuer, Kevin. However, her past follows her to Montana and threatens all that she loves there. Jamie has no choice but to hurt Kevin in order to save his life and returns to New York with her ex, Derrick. Broken, Kevin refuses to believe she doesn’t love him and searches for Jamie, only to find her in Derrick’s lair. Once again Jamie tries to protect Kevin but this time gets caught in the cross fire.

Keep reading to find out more about this author and to read an excerpt from this book!

Author InformationRoniHall-Headshots-14

The summer after high school graduation, Roni worked two jobs to pay for nursing school. During the midnight shift as a waitress, a charismatic young man at the counter flirted with her for hours as he consumed seven cups of coffee.  Their first date was eventful enough to be a book itself! Thirty-seven years and two kids later, the love story continues. Just like her novels, life can’t be too simple and you must make it an adventurous ride!

Her favorite place to write is in her hammock at their small Michigan cottage where she literally dodges the feeding hummingbirds while being serenaded by the lake’s loons.  Besides writing, she loves Slow Rollin’ in Detroit and the combination of good food, better wine, and dear friends.

Contact Info: 

Facebook:      http://www.facebook.com/ronihall02 

Web site:        http://ronihall.com

Email:              roni@ronihall.com

Amazon buy link: http://amzn.to/1UZZb4V

Excerpt from Montana Wild:

Swept up into the sea of travelers at the airport, she focused her attention back to the present as she followed the human current through check-in and security gates. It wasn’t until she was buckled into her seat that she registered the panic present in the far corner of her mind. What am I doing? A sickening wave of nausea rose in her throat as clammy beads of sweat trickled down her face. What the hell am I doing? Get up. Get off the plane now. It’s not too late, go!

Dizzy with indecision, she reached for the buckle on her seatbelt as her alternate conscience spoke up. No, stay. Do I really want to go back to my cramped little studio and spend more time alone? Her fingers released the grip on her seatbelt and she closed her eyes, deliberately trying to relax the tense wires in every fiber of her body.

Uneasy thoughts lingered after her internal schizophrenic conversation and she tried to leave all doubts behind as the plane ascended. Finding it impossible to concentrate on reading, she tried to distract herself by striking up a conversation with the unlucky soul sitting next to her.

“Have you ever been to Montana?”

“Oh yes, my sister lives there and I try to visit her every few years. How about you?”

“No, I’ve never been. This’s my first time and I’m nervous,” Jamie admitted.

“It’s pretty enough, but it’s rough country. I couldn’t live there. What brings you?”

Well, I finally got enough backbone to break up with my abusive, criminal boyfriend Derrick three months ago, and then my best friend and only ally, Noah, left on tour. I have NO family since my father died an agonizing death from lung cancer ten years ago, resulting in my mother becoming depressed and committing suicide two years later. I was pathetic enough to attach myself to one of my patients and become a helpless spectator as death cruelly consumed him. Only days after his death, my only surviving relative and second mother died, leaving me a 31-year-old orphan. So you see, I’m a loser and terribly lonely. So when this man I’ve never met in person asked me to join him on an intriguing escape across the country, I accepted.

That was the whole enchilada she wanted to spew out to the sweet, unsuspecting gray-haired matron in seat 21A. Instead she answered succinctly, “Just visiting a friend.”

Thank you so much for this post, Roni and the associated materials you provided for it!

One comment on “Guest Post: What I Didn’t Know by Roni Hall

  1. lindabradleyauthor
    February 23, 2016

    Reblogged this on Linda Bradley.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 12, 2016 by in Guest Post and tagged , , , , , , , .

Monthly archive of posts

