splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

Review: Kitty’s Countryside Dream by Christie Barlow

Kitty's Countryside DreamTitle: Kitty’s Countryside Dream

Author: Christie Barlow

Publisher: Bookouture

Date of Publication: February 25th, 2016

Pages: 309

Rating: 5/5

My Review:

This was an amazing read – and what a beautiful cover, too1 Talk about giving the reader a feel good factor – this gets full marks. I feel like I’ve made friends with so many of the characters and have actually visited the farm! It is brilliantly and emotively written, taking the reader in to experience the highs and lows, the fears and hopes, dread and joy, the full gamut of emotions in this superbly crafted novel by an adept wordsmith.

Kitty lost her father when she was ten years old and gave up her chance to go to university to look after her ailing mother until she, too, died. Just a few months later she learns she has inherited a farm from her grandmother, a grandmother she didn’t know had still been alive. As she moves to live in the village where it turns out her grandmother and mother had lived she has much to learn about how a chicken farm is run as well as about her own family history, secrets that have been kept throughout her life time and new relations and relationships to be formed. It is a roller coaster journey the author takes the reader on alongside the characters, sharing their humorous moments that have you laughing out loud and crying tears of happiness. It is a superb novel where historic events impact dramatically on contemporary living with them interwoven skilfully in a believable, heartwarming tale that I cannot recommend highly enough.

Thanks to the author, publishers and NetGalley, too, for letting me read an ARC of this book in exchange for an honest review.

Synopsis:

New home. New life. New beginning. It’s time for Kitty Lewis to start living again . . .

When Kitty inherits Bluebell Lodge from her grandmother, a farm in the beautiful Staffordshire countryside, it’s time for fresh air and a fresh start. Up to her elbows in chickens and ponies, Kitty soon realises there’s an awful lot to learn about farming. Still, at least the locals seem friendly, not least her handsome neighbour Tom…

But just as Kitty is beginning to find her feet, the discovery of a long-hidden diary,at the farm, by a mysterious character called Violet changes everything. Who is Violet and what is her message for Kitty? As Kitty fills in the lost pieces of her family jigsaw and discovers some shocking revelations, will her countryside dream fall to pieces? When it comes to life in the country, nothing is ever quite as it seems …

A heart warming, moving and funny tale, perfect for fans of Trisha Ashley and Cathy Bramley.

Praise for Christie Barlow:

‘Well-observed, highly-relatable and wickedly-funny.’ Cathy Bramley

‘A hilarious account, cleverly witty all the way through, a very entertaining read.’ Kim the Book Worm

‘An absolute delight to read …turned me into a complete Christie Barlow convert’ Rachel’s Random Reads

‘Full of laughs and hilarious one-liners.’ JB Johnston Book Tours

‘Hilarious entertaining read.’ Chicklit Chickadees Book Tour

‘What a tonic, this book should be available on prescription! Witty and incisive.’ Matt Franks – comedian

This book is available from a variety of sources including

amazon.co.uk           amazon.com          barnes and noble

Advertisements

One comment on “Review: Kitty’s Countryside Dream by Christie Barlow

  1. Pingback: Review: Lizzie’s Christmas Escape by Christie Barlow | splashesintobooks

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Monthly archive of posts

%d bloggers like this: