splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

Review: Dark Child: Bloodsworn (Omnibus) by Adina West

Dark ChildTitle: Dark Child: Bloodsworn (Omnibus) by Adina West

Author: Adina West

Publisher: Momentum Books

Date of Publication: February 11th, 2016

Pages: 363

Rating: 5/5

My Review:

One of the first book reviews I blogged about was the first story in this growing saga. I’ve enjoyed reading all the books in the first series and jumped at the opportunity to read this omnibus edition of the next set of stories in this developing saga, and I continue to be enthralled by the concept and excellent writing.

I was impressed by how the author wrote a brief summary of key events from the first set of books to remind people who have read the books about what happened and to inform new readers, though I do suspect that having read the earlier novels in the series added to my enjoyment of this omnibus edition. The saga of Kat’s development from a highly competent pathologist to become a powerful leader in the paranormal world is continued, with her trials and tribulations as she comes to terms with the conflicting demands of her dual heritage portrayed in an easy to relate to manner. Her relationships with key members of the different factions are explored, and the author skilfully portrays the emotions of the different participants, brining everything to vivid life in the imagination of readers.

As I stated initially, I really enjoyed the first set of stories in this saga and I’m happy to say this is equally excellent. It made a cross Atlantic flight pass very enjoyably! I can’t wait to read what happens next!

Thanks to the author, publishers and NetGalley, too, for letting me read an ARC of this book in exchange for an honest review.

Synopsis:

It’s open war between the Families of Power and the Tabérin. Two ancient races, witch and vampire, are locked in a deadly battle, and Kat Chanter, descendant of both warring bloodlines, is the only hope for peace …

With the fate of two races resting on her shoulders, Kat is determined to make the best of her forced visit to her grandmother Imara’s Napa compound, and learn all she can about the Families of Power and her newly discovered witch heritage. But she quickly learns that Imara’s word can’t be trusted. Prejudice runs deep in the old coven leader, and her grandmother remains committed to a war with the Tabérin that Kat would do anything to stop.

But Imara’s war isn’t the only threat to the fragile balance between the races that has endured for centuries. Fanatical factions within the European covens plot to resurrect an ancient power best left sleeping, and the new Vodas is building his dynasty on the backs of a personal guard willing to fight to the death to give him what he wants.

With the unsolved murder of a young witch boy raising as many questions as answers, Kat is discovering blood is the key to everything, including the new Vodas’s subjection of his sworn elite.

In this world, blood is power. But blood can betray you.

An urban fantasy full of vampires, werewolves and shapeshifters, which is perfect for fans of Cassandra Clare’s Mortal Instruments and Julie Kagawa’s Blood of Eden series.

This is a full length novel. Dark Child (Bloodsworn): Omnibus Edition bundles together Dark Child (Bloodsworn) Episodes 1-5.

This book is available from a variety of sources including

amazon.co.uk           amazon.com          barnes and noble

Other posts concerning this author on this blog include:

Dark Child by Adina West and Dark Child: Covens Rising by Adina West

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Monthly archive of posts

%d bloggers like this: