splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

Author Interview: K.N. Smith

K N Smith

Many congratulations to K N Smith for her amazing debut novel – and many thanks, too, for agreeing to be interviewed and answering my questions! Read on to discover what she has shared . . . . 

Where did you get the inspiration for your novel?

The inspiration for this novel was actually born of my desire to see more young people reading. When my daughters were in high school, I was a volunteer parent tutor and I could really see the need for tutoring with the students, especially in English and math. I thought if I could entertain, I could educate along the way. With that, my lyrical writing style does stretch the imagination a bit, but it’s all for a good cause.

What is your writing process?

My writing process has to be simple because there’s so much to write! First, I get the full scope of the entire novel, and then I break that down into chapters. Each chapter is then broken down into a full page or two of scenes and dialogue. From there, I write the chapter and add additional dialogue accordingly. I’m the kind of writer who definitely needs a clear roadmap. However, characters go off in new directions sometimes, so I have to keep my eyes open!

Do you write using pen and paper or on a computer?

When I write I use a combination of tools to make the process as painless as possible. Mostly, I use a computer, but there are times when a printed chapter just needs a pencil for light editing. Reading the actual printed page is good for my eyes, and after some editing and lining out of words, I go back in and clean it up on the computer. For capturing sudden inspiration and story ideas, I often use the Notes feature in my cell phone, or pencil and paper. During these times, I just can’t get to a computer fast enough.

Who is your favourite character out of your stories and why?

I really love the Dark Stranger. He’s big, strong, bold, and doesn’t dilly-dally on his way to the action. Talk about a man of few words! As the series unfolds, readers will learn more about him and how deep he is. Of course, I love all of the boys too.

If you were a character in your story, which would you like to be and why?

Definitely Alina! Actually, I want to BE Alina right now as we speak. She’s one tough lady. Of course I’d have to get my martial arts game up and learn to use nunchucks. But, I could handle it. I like her ability to handle herself, and she’s very independent and strong. Watch out, Druth!

How and why did you choose the names for your main characters?

I chose the names of the characters very carefully according to their various personalities and ethnicities. Although I crafted a couple of them personally, others are more common. I tried to think about their individual lives, and what names might be most fitting for their ages and family backgrounds. It’s a very diverse set of characters as you can tell. Of all the names, Kinsu, which is Japanese, is my personal favorite. 

Many thanks to K. N. Smith for agreeing to answer my questions – and for writing such a great story! Also thanks to Laura Fabiani who has coordinated and providing materials for this tour on behalf of iRead Book Tours.

iRead Website new logo

2 comments on “Author Interview: K.N. Smith

  1. Pingback: Blog Tour: The Urban Boys by K. N. Smith | splashesintobooks

  2. K.N. Smith
    March 18, 2016

    Thanks for your support on this tour, and for posting the interview. Have a lovely weekend! K.N. Smith

    Like

Leave a Reply

Monthly archive of posts

