splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

Guest Post: Jennie Marts – Most Challenging Thing Successfully Completed

This guest post is by Jennie Marts:

Most Challenging Thing Successfully CompletedJennie Marts

Thanks so much for helping me to celebrate the release of Romancing the Ranger– my newest book in Entangled Publishing’s Lovestruck line. It’s a romantic comedy about Reese Hudson, a city girl, who meets hunky park ranger, Wade Baker, when she accidentally burns down the outhouse in his state park and is required to rebuild it under the sexy ranger’s supervision.

Reese finds herself in a new situation and faced with the task of rebuilding this structure. She has no experience with building anything, but dives into the project with a positive spirit. How many times have we been faced with a really challenging task that we don’t know have a clue to do?

The most challenging thing I’ve successfully completed would actually be writing my first book. I have always been a writer and knew in my heart that one day I wanted to write a book. I knew what I liked to read, books with romance and a little mystery that make you laugh and cry and have happy endings. I knew for my book that I wanted to do a romantic comedy with a bit of a mystery to it with a hunky guy, a lovable heroine, a core group of friends who supported each other, and of course, a dog, and I thought the idea of six blind dates and having one of them be with a murderer sounded like a lot of fun. So I had an idea of what I wanted to do, but wasn’t sure about the semantics of creating a plot with a mystery and a full beginning and ending and a timeline. But I knew I wanted this more than anything and that the idea and skill was in me, so I jumped right in and started writing a book. And I also joined writer’s groups like Romance Writers of America, I took classes, I found critique help, and I attended conferences. And I kept writing. It took me a year to write that first book, and then another six months to rewrite it after I learned about everything I had done wrong and how to correct it. That book, Another Saturday Night & I Ain’t Got No Body, is still the book of my heart that I adore and is my proudest achievement.

Since that first book, I now have 12 books published, signed six books with a publisher, and hit the USA Today Bestsellers list. Which goes to show that you can accomplish amazing things when you follow your passion and set your heart on a goal. And keep that positive spirit.

Which is also what happened with Reese, except her goals involved building a park structure and winning over a hunky park ranger.

I’d love to hear of a time that you accomplished something that you never believed you would be able to do. I’m always inspired by success stories and hearing how people have achieved something they may have thought impossible.

Thanks so much for taking the time to check out my new book. I really do love connecting with new readers. To keep on top of all my news, including sales and new releases, please visit www.jenniemarts.com to sign up for my newsletter and I would love to invite you to join my street team, Jennie’s Page Turners at: https://www.facebook.com/groups/190207341316308/

I’m doing a Rafflecopter Giveaway to celebrate the release of Romancing the Ranger. Be sure to enter to win!

Thanks again and I hope you love the new book. Happy Reading!

Jennie

Many thanks to Jennie for this guest post – feel free to share your accomplishments with her by leaving a comment below!

Leave a Reply

Monthly archive of posts

