splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

Author Interview: Connie Y Harris

 

Where did you get the inspiration for the book/series?

My series, The Forever Series, originated from a trip I took with my daughter through the rolling green hills of the Ocala, Florida horse country. She was in school, studying to be an equine veterinarian, and was doing what is referred to as an “externship.” This differs from an internship as it’s done while the student is still in school. We visited a number of stunning properties surrounded by lush green pastures and delineated with Kentucky-style white picket fences. The barns were all immaculate and resembled a movie set. I was struck by the romance of the setting.


What is your writing process?

I have a basic idea for a book and toss it around with my critique partner first. She usually suggests a few ideas about the plot and then off I go. I like to write in my house where I have a view of the water usually early in the morning with a cup of good coffee next to me. One cup turns into two and I’m lost in the character’s thoughts and actions. Sometimes I listen to music as I find it accelerates my creativity.

Do you write using pen and paper or on a computer?

I used a legal pad and a comfortable pen when I first started writing but found it cumbersome so now I use a laptop.  I do usually have a small pad of paper with me to jot down ideas that nag me like a hungry child.

Who is your favorite character out of your stories and why?

My favorite character in my new book, Forever in Ocala, is the heroine’s injured Marine brother. In spite of a catastrophic injury while on an operation in Afghanistan, the young lieutenant refuses to become a victim and rises above the paralyzing pain and formidable disability that ties him to a wheel chair. He is pure of heart and represents all that is good in the world.

If you were a character in your story, which would you like to be?

My desire is to be the heroine, Ariel Armstrong, because she is living her dream in the care and nurturing of horses, the magnificent four-legged beast we all love so much and as a bonus she gets pursued by a hot SEAL. We should all live our dream.

How and why did you choose the names for your main characters?

I chose the name Ariel for my heroine because she is my heroine in real life as my daughter and a dedicated equine vet.

The inspiration for the hero’s name, Gavin, came from a trip I took to Australia where the name is as common as Mike but have you seen the Australian men? Think the Hemsworth brothers.

John, who is the indomitable spirit and the brother of the heroine is my nephew in every respect and was both the most difficult and the easiest character in which to immerse myself.

3 comments on “Author Interview: Connie Y Harris

  1. Lorelei
    March 30, 2016

    Wow! Great interview; lots of great and inspiring information.

    Like

    • bicted
      March 30, 2016

      Totally agree – thanks for commenting!

      Like

  2. Lynette Robey
    April 3, 2016

    You nailed the interview. Great. (Almost said you nailed ‘it’.) Lynette

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 29, 2016 by in Author Interview and tagged , , , .

Monthly archive of posts

