splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

Blog Tour + Review: Forever in Ocala by Connie Y Harris

FIO_Badge

In this dramatic and humorous debut novel by Connie Y. Harris, equine vet Ariel Armstrong, hides in plain sight on a horse farm to protect not only her heart, but her life. But when her vindictive ex-boyfriend still manages to find her, it’s up to Navy SEAL, Gavin Cross, to come to her rescue. Fans of Suzanne Brockman and Roxanne St. Claire will love this sexy romance from The Wild Rose Press.

Follow the tour and enter to #WIN a grand prize $20 gift card to Amazon or runner-up prizes including 5 eBook copies of Forever in Ocala!

Enter at: http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/share-code/YjA1MGVmMjkwYTE2NWQzYWI3ODNiODExNGJiNGU0OjE5Ng==/?

Visit any of these participating blogs for your chance to win!

March 21st The Literary Swing Review Stop

March 21st Yearwood Daily Book Review Excerpt Stop

March 22nd What Is That Book About Excerpt Stop

March 22nd Reviews from the Heart Review on Blog

March 22nd Rainne’s Ramblings Excerpt Stop

March 23rd Just Booked Excerpt Stop

March 23rd The Book Quarry Guest Post

March 24th Long and Short Reviews Excerpt Stop

March 24th Lisa’s Louisiana Home Guest Post

March 24th OMGReads Excerpt Stop

March 25th Jen’s Reading Obsession Excerpt Stop

March 25th T&L Book Reviews Guest Post

March 28th Book Reviews & More by Kathy Excerpt Stop

March 28th EskieMama Reads  Review Stop

March 29th Splashes Into Books Interview + Review

March 29th Those Crazy Book Chicks Excerpt Stop

March 30th Mikky’s World Of Books Excerpt Stop

March 30th Room With Books Excerpt Stop

March 31st Swept Away By Romance Guest Post

April 1st Nice Ladies, Naughty Books Excerpt Stop

April 1st Evermore Books Excerpt Stop

April 1st Southern Yankee Book Reviews Review on Blog

Title: Forever in OcalaForeverinOcala_w10124_750

Series: The Forever series

Author: Connie Y. Harris

Author Location: Tampa, Florida

Genre: Contemporay Romance

Release Date: March 16, 2016

Publisher: The Wild Rose Press

Format: Digitial

ISBN: 978-1-5092-0644-5

Synopsis:

Can the healing power of love prevail over the high stakes demands of duty and personal sacrifice?

Determined to protect her life and heal her broken heart, Ariel Armstrong seeks a refuge from her violent ex-boyfriend. Her dream job working with prized race horses, as an equine vet, enables her to hide in plain sight and care for her brother, an injured Marine. After losing her father to war and witnessing her brother’s daily battle to overcome his injuries, she’s sworn off military men forever.

Gavin Cross, Navy SEAL, and the son of Ariel’s new boss has one mission in life — to serve his country. But after showing signs of PTSD, he’s sent home where he struggles against the diagnosis and vows to get back to the action ASAP. The last problem he needs is an emotional entanglement with the beautiful, new farm vet. Denying the attraction between them only stirs the fire of their growing passion. Gavin must choose where his duty lies — with his country or at home with the woman he loves and wants to protect. Leaving Ariel to rejoin his SEAL team means fulfilling his mission, but at what cost? The promise of her love tempts him in an undeniable way and has him questioning his need to serve. Gavin’s time to choose is up. A future without Ariel is no future at all, but is saving America from terrorism the greater good?

Available at: Amazon (UK)  |   Amazon (US)  |   B&N  |  The Wild Rose Press

My Review:

This story has all the ingredients for a fantastic read, blended to perfection by a talented writer.

The author has crafted a beautiful setting for most of the story on the horse breeding farm. With Ariel Armstrong a highly motivated, skilled veterinarian as the feisty female lead,  her abusive, violent ex as the danger and Navy SEAL, Gavin Cross, as the troubled hero these three are great characters. However, don’t assume there are no other superb characters to meet – I particularly liked Ariel’s severely injured yet resilient, younger brother who demonstrates an inspirational determination and positive attitude. The author emotively explores the turmoil and angst of members of the armed services, helping develop awareness of the impact of their war experiences and injuries on their own lives and those of the ones they love. Don’t go thinking this is all doom and gloom, however, it is anything but, it is a delightful, fast paced story of overcoming adversity, working together, romance and healing. 

Packed with dangerous situations at home and abroad, coping with adversity, fighting for those you love, the author has an engaging writing style which takes the reader on a journey with the characters, witnessing their actions and reactions. It is a journey with love at its heart, love for brothers in arms, for family, friends and lovers encapsulated in a story with suspense, mystery and romance to keep the reader entertained and enthralled from the very beginning.

Fairly obviously, I really enjoyed this novel and have no hesitation in highly recommending it to anyone who enjoys their romance with military heroes, horses and spiked with danger.

Excerpt from FOREVER IN OCALA

Copyright © 2016 by Connie Y. Harris

          Her gaze flicked to an imposing male figure planted directly in her line of vision, his stance wide, wearing leather combat boots seemingly bolted to the earth. Whoever the man was, he surveyed every detail of his environment with the presence of someone whose self-confidence couldn’t easily be shaken. He carried himself like he belonged here. Hell, like he owned the place. The startling combination of blue eyes, the color of glacier water, against an olive complexion and full black beard created a commanding presence.  Glued like a sentry next to the man, Wager, the farm’s Border collie exuded absolute devotion with his tongue lolling out and head tilted up to the hand stroking him.

     Jesus, who IS that dude? He can’t be a new buyer interested in our foals the way Wager is fawning all over him but he’s someone important, no doubt. Focus Ariel, you’re here to work, not get infatuated with the first cowboy who comes along.

     As if he sensed her curiosity, the enigmatic stranger turned his attention toward her. The intensity of his stare invaded her comfort zone as he coolly and completely assessed her with a visual review of her body that left her feeling undressed. The hair on her arms stood erect. She rubbed them as if removing a chill. The physical reaction was her own intuitive warning system and experience had taught her to listen to her body. She understood all too well about arrogant, possessive men.  Her controlling ex-boyfriend was a moral zero and the most deceptive man she’d ever met. The image of him sent shivers skidding down her spine but she quickly thrust the memories aside.  He’s out of my life and nowhere near here.

     Ariel slid the dog tags back and forth on the chain she wore around her neck….

Author Bio:IMG_30642

With close ties to the Navy SEAL community, Connie’s mission as a writer is to offer the reader a realistic portrayal of men who transfer their alpha tendencies and athletic prowess into serving a noble cause.

A former English teacher and corporate executive Connie holds a B.A from East Carolina University. Although she continues her role as Vice President in a busy ad agency, her first love has always been writing. She maintains a portfolio of songs, poems and stories she wrote as early as ten. When she isn’t working or writing, Connie enjoys Zumba fitness and claims her best story ideas come to her while dancing.

Connie lives with her family and two adorable Westies near the Gulf Coast of Florida.

Find Connie at: Website | Twitter | Facebook

Many thanks to Barclay Publicity for organising this tour and providing an arc of the book and additional post materials in exchange for my honest review.

barclay publicity

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Monthly archive of posts

%d bloggers like this: