splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

Review: Slumber by Christy Sloat

Title: Slumber Slumber

Series: The Slumber Duology #1

Author: Christy Sloat

Publishers: Anchor Group Publishing

Date of Publication: March 10/16th, 2015

Pages: 236

Rating: 4/5

My Review:

What a magnificent adaptation of the classic fairy tale packed with brilliant word craft and a superb retake with plenty of surprises! Having been brainwashed into believing she’s murdered her boyfriend, the seventeen year old inmate of Spindle Ridge Asylum for the Criminally Insane finds it difficult to comprehend how this could all be lies. She can’t believe she’s really Princess Aurora Rose even when she is told this by undercover fairies working in the asylum.

This is an intriguing retelling of the tale with plenty of twists, turns and turmoil to keep an adult audience enchanted. The characters are emotively portrayed making readers figuratively ready to cheer on the good and boo the evil. I like how the heroine grows and develops as the story progresses and she discovers more of her past.

This is a fantastic fantasy and I can’t wait to discover how it concludes in the second book in this duology. I have no hesitation in highly recommending this to any adult who would love to revisit a grown up version of fairy tales again!

Thanks to the author, publishers and YA Bound Book Tours for gifting me an ARC of this book in exchange for an honest review.

Synopsis:

Not all princesses get their happily ever after…

They tell me I killed my boyfriend Phillip in cold blood. I stabbed him twenty one times. I’m only seventeen years old, and I am serving life in Spindle Ridge Asylum for the Criminally Insane.

I don’t remember killing him, so it’s really hard to believe I’m capable of murder. In fact I don’t remember anything before I came to Spindle Ridge, not even my boyfriend.

I can only grasp onto my realistic dreams while the madness of the asylum threatens to pull me under. I dream I’m a beautiful princess and there is an evil faerie named Maleficent who is bent on my destruction. The dreams are the closest thing I have to memories of my life, except they aren’t real.

I’m crazy. I’m not a princess.

They’re the mad illusions of an irrational teenage girl, right?

They’ve assigned me a new doctor, and she says I can trust her, and that she’ll help me see the truth of who I really am.

When she arrived she brought a new patient, Sawyer, who is everything Spindle Ridge isn’t: exciting, mysterious and beautiful. He promises he’s here to rescue me. Trusting either of them frightens me.

Could it be possible that my dreams are more than just the imaginings of a delusional girl? Could they be truth?

This book is available from a variety of sources including

amazon.co.uk           amazon.com          barnes and noble

YA Bounk Tour Button

One comment on “Review: Slumber by Christy Sloat

  1. christy sloat
    April 3, 2016

    Thank you for this fabulous review. Stay posted on my new books by following me on Facebook http://www.facebook.com/christysloatauthor
    xoxo

    Like

Leave a Reply

Monthly archive of posts

