splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

Review: Did I Mention I Need you by Estelle Maskame

Did I Mention the I Need YouTitle: Did I Mention I Need You

Author: Estelle Maskame

Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire

Date of Publication: March 1st, 2016

Pages: 384

Rating: 3/5

My Review:

Well, having read the first book in this series, ‘Did I Mention I Love You?’, I was hoping that Eden’s two timing, cheating ways would be a thing of the past. Unfortunately, this isn’t the case and continue unabated in this second story in the trilogy.

The setting of New York City is explored brilliantly, with famous places, brought to life in the author’s descriptions. The background story for Tyler is recapped seamlessly so even if you haven’t read the first story you’ll be able to follow and understand some of the motivations in this one. Personally, I still don’t like cheating and cheating with your boyfriend’s best friend is surely even worse! Eden strikes me as being too immature to even have a boyfriend, let alone be two timing them both! Tyler has been through so much in his life but seems to have more about him in the end, he certainly deserves someone less selfish than Eden proves to be. Dean is too trusting. She hoodwinks them both in her selfish, immature and self centred attitude and despicable behaviour. Sorry, rant over, I just don’t like the cheating and am disappointed that it hasn’t stopped in this second book in the series.  It is the quality of the writing that gains it the stars, but not the storyline which rates much lower IMHO

Thanks to the author, publishers and NetGalley, too, for letting me read an ARC of this book in exchange for an honest review.

Synopsis:

Love has no rules.

It’s been a year since Eden Munro last saw Tyler Bruce: her stepbrother…and secret love. Although they swore to ignore their feelings and put their family first, Eden can’t help but feel excited when Tyler invites her to join him in New York City for the summer.

But it’s not like anything is going to happen. Eden is happy with her boyfriend Dean, and she knows gorgeous, green-eyed Tyler must have moved on as well. But as they spend the long, hot summer in the city that never sleeps, it becomes obvious that those old feelings are still there…simmering beneath the surface. Will Tyler and Eden be able to resist temptation?

Did I Mention I Need You? is book two in Wattpad sensation Estelle Maskame’s DIMILY trilogy: three unforgettable summers of secrets, heartbreak and forbidden romance.

Look for the companion novels:

Did I Mention I Love You? in December 2015

Did I Mention I Miss You? in June 2016

This book is available from a variety of sources including

amazon.co.uk           amazon.com          barnes and noble

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 3, 2016 by in YA and tagged , , , , , , , .

Monthly archive of posts

