splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

Review: The Good Mother by AL Bird

Title: The Good Mother The Good Mother

Author: A L Bird

Publishers: Carina UK

Date of Publication: April 4th, 2016

Pages: 384

Rating: 4/5

My Review:

Well, I certainly wasn’t expecting that ending! I’m going to deliberately try to avoid giving any clues about this story in case I inadvertently give any spoilers….

This is a dark, psychological thriller that keeps you guessing right to the very end. The writing style draws the reader into the scenarios, immersing them in events which are related from two different points of view. It is like a house of mirrors – nothing is quite as you’d expect and there are so many twists and turns be careful you don’t get travel sick on this fast paced roller coaster ride. Beware of accepting anything at face value, the chances are you’ll be wrong!

It is a riveting read, a real page turner with unanticipated macabre connotations and, as I said at the beginning of this review, that ending is a final spectacular twist that turns everything onto its head. The characters are superbly portrayed, the tension is palpable and the plot convoluted and intriguing making this a book that will stay with the reader long after they finish reading it. If you enjoy psychological thrillers this is definitely well worth checking out!

I was invited to read this by the publishers and gifted an ARC via NetGalley in exchange for my honest review.

Synopsis:

The greatest bond. The darkest betrayal.

Susan wakes up alone in a room she doesn’t recognise, with no memory of how she got there. She only knows that she is trapped, and her daughter is missing.

The relief that engulfs her when she hears her daughter’s voice through the wall is quickly replaced by fear, knowing that whoever has imprisoned her has her daughter, too.

Devising a plan to keep her daughter safe, Susan begins to get closer to her unknown captor. And suddenly, she realises that she has met him before.

The Good Mother is a dark and disturbing psychological thriller for fans of C L Taylor, Kathryn Croft and S K Tremayne.

This book is available from a variety of sources including

amazon.co.uk           amazon.com          barnes and noble

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Information

This entry was posted on April 4, 2016 by in Adult and tagged , , , , , , , , , , .

Monthly archive of posts

%d bloggers like this: