splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

Author Interview: Kyra Jacobs

Kyra JacobsI thoroughly enjoyed reading ‘Dragons Among Them’ and jumped at the chance at interviewing its author, Kyra Jacobs . . . . read on to discover her responses to my questions!

Where did you get the inspiration for the book/series?

I know this is going to sound horribly cliché, but in all honesty the story came to me in a dream. I saw Addie in the clearing, cornered by wolves, and this magnificent golden dragon swooped in to save her…after he transformed from his human self. She passes out, and my alarm goes off. WHAT?!? Words I shouldn’t repeat here were muttered as I hit snooze and hoped for the dream to continue, but alas, it didn’t. So, the rest of the story I had to dream up while awake. And oh, what a lovely time daydreaming I had! 😉

What is your writing process?

Usually my books evolve from a single scene or glimpse of the book that comes to me. And while those scenes don’t always make the final cut, they help me get a feel for the characters and what they’re going through. Once I understand their world, their struggles, their motivations, and what they’re hoping to achieve, I build the story around that moment.

Do you write using pen and paper or on a computer?

Usually on a computer or some kind of electronic device. If nothing’s handy and an idea strikes (i.e. when I’m driving—never fails…lol) then I reach for a pen/pencil and notepad or scrap paper (at red lights only, I swear!) I try to never leave home without them!

Dragons Among Them coverWho is your favourite character out of your stories and why?

Oh, wow, that’s tough. Like trying to pick your favorite child! At the moment I’m having so much fun with Zayne and Addie. Though, Zayne has truly stolen my heart. He’s not your typical spoiled royal, and often gets caught having to choose between love and duty (though, if his cruel, cruel author didn’t keep putting him in such situations, his life would be so much easier…lol.) The fierce love Zayne develops for Addie, as well as the protective and loving nature he has towards his mama, has launched him into the top tier of my favorites list.

If you were a character in your story, which would you like to be?

Adelaide. Hands down. (Why? See answer to prior question.) She’s one lucky girl. And if things work out as planned for her in books 2 and 3, she might even forgive the me for the craziness that lies ahead. 😉

How and why did you choose the names for your main characters?

Ooo, great question! I had to go back and look at my notes to answer this one. Often I’ll go online and search for popular names from the year my characters were born. But most of the characters in this book were found scoping out popular British and UK names from around the time period, um, things happened in the history of the story’s dragons. Phew—almost leaked a spoiler there! Also, the fire kingdom’s name Edana is supposedly Irish for “fire” and Gaelic for “Fiery”, which fit the story quite nicely.

Thank you soooo much for sharing in my release week blog tour, Splashes! And stay tuned—books 2 and 3 will be along before we know it!

Many thanks to Kyra for agreeing to be interviewed and I can’t wait to read books 2 and 3!  

Read my review of ‘Dragons Among Them’ here!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 19, 2016 by in Author Interview and tagged , , .

Monthly archive of posts

