splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

Author Interview: Katee Robert

Katee Robert.04.205px.pngI’ve read and thoroughly enjoyed several books by Katee Roberts, so when I was given the opportunity to interview her I jumped at the chance! Read on to find out more about this talented author . .  .

Where did you get the inspiration for the book/series?

It’s actually kind of funny. I was driving and listening to this new Delta Rae album. A song came on called Chasing Twisters and I was kicked in the teeth with the image of a woman standing over the body of her fiancé–who she had just met that night. I rushed home and wrote out the scene. From there, it was teasing out the story, the characters, and the world they lived in. I’d wanted to write an organized crime family storyline for years, so this just all clicked into place.

The Marriage ContractWhat is your writing process?

I start by putting together a pinterest board. I’m very visual, so finding the right feeling in images is the start of it all. From there, I find names and sort of pick away at an idea until it becomes more fully formed. Only then do I start to write. I wish I was one of those people who can polish as they go, but my best work is done when I’m rushing from beginning to the end. I leave brackets for stuff I want to fill in/research later, or toss in a note or two if something happens that makes me understand a character better. Once I hit The End, then I go back and flesh everything out.

Who is your favourite character out of your stories and why?

I don’t know if I can pick just ONE. I have more like a Hall of Fame. Gabe from Wrong Bed, Right Guy is in it. So is James from The Wedding Pact. As far as heroines go, Regan from Seducing the Bridesmaid is a favorite, and I have two heroines of my upcoming Brazen cowboy series who are destined for the hall of fame. They are amazing!

If you were a character in your story, which would you like to be?Robert_The Wedding Pact_MM

I think I’d pick Callie Sheridan. She’s a leader to the core and, though she’s got a soft side and seen loss, she’s not afraid to do what it takes to keep the people she loves safe.

How and why did you choose the names for your main characters?

Carrigan was chosen via the baby name site. I knew the hero of the first book had 3 sisters and 3 brothers, so I went through searching Irish names until I found ones that clicked. The name Carrigan feels strong to me, and the character is nothing if not strong. James was different. I chose his name on a whim, and I didn’t necessarily have a plan for him until after the first scene I wrote with him in it. At that point, I knew he was going to be a hero in his own book.

Thank you so much for agreeing to answer my questions, Katee Robert!

I was lucky enough to have an early review copy of her latest novel, The Wedding Pact, and you can read my review of it here or see more about it in my spotlight, excerpt and giveaway blog tour post associated with its launch here.

Click on the title to read my review of the first book in this series ‘The Marriage Contract

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 26, 2016 by in Author Interview and tagged , , , .

Monthly archive of posts

