splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

Review: The Little French Guesthouse by Helen Pollard

Series: La Cour des Roses #1The Little French Guesthouse

Title: The Little French Guesthouse

Author: Helen Pollard

Publishers: Bookouture

Date of Publication: April 28th, 2016

Pages: 309

Rating: 5/5

My Review:

This is the first book in the new series by this author and it is utterly delicious, I loved escaping into this delightful French community, with plenty of ex-Pats around, too. This is definitely a feel good book that had me with a smile on my face and laughing out loud.

Emmy Jamieson arranges to go on holiday to La Cour des Roses, a little French guest house run by an English couple in the Loire Valley, France. She goes there with her boyfriend of four years, Nathan, in the hope of reviving their flagging relationship but the story opens with Emmy finding Nathan and Gloria, the wife of the guest house owner, on the terrace in a very compromising position. To make matters worse, she’s seeking Gloria to ask her to call for an ambulance as her husband, Rupert, appears to have had a heart attack! When Nathan and Gloria leave together, abandoning the injured Rupert and Emmy, she decides to complete her holiday even though it actually means working hard to help Rupert with running the guest house – cooking, cleaning and shopping amongst other things. This introduces her to the local community and she soon finds herself making new friends, making changes to her life, taking a new lover and potentially finding romance. As her holiday time comes to an end she’s offered other options. Should she return to her old life but without Nathan or take the leap to move to France and all the new possibilities that would come with it?

With a superb range of quirky characters from the community, this is a brilliant glimpse into life in this fantastic region. You’ve just got to love Rupert and his machinations to bring new love into Emmy’s life and entice her to stay by organising dinners and meetings with his friends in the locality, showing just how different her life could be. With the sexy gardener providing a great distraction from Nathan’s desertion, new friends and new possibilities this is a real page turner that I thoroughly enjoyed. There are plenty of laugh out loud moments, a truly wonderfully crafted novel that I highly recommend for its amazing characters, plot and storytelling that make it a brilliant story to escape into. I can’t wait for the next book in the series to be available, I definitely want to read it, please!

Thanks to the publishers for gifting me an ARC of this novel, via NetGalley, in exchange for my honest review.

Synopsis:

Sun, croissants and fine wine. Nothing can spoil the perfect holiday. Or can it?

When Emmy Jamieson arrives at La Cour des Roses, a beautiful guesthouse in the French countryside, she can’t wait to spend two weeks relaxing with boyfriend Nathan. Their relationship needs a little TLC and Emmy is certain this holiday will do the trick. But they’ve barely unpacked before he scarpers with Gloria, the guesthouse owner’s cougar wife.

Rupert, the ailing guesthouse owner, is shell-shocked. Feeling somewhat responsible, and rather generous after a bottle (or so) of wine, heartbroken Emmy offers to help. Changing sheets in the gîtes will help keep her mind off her misery.

Thrust into the heart of the local community, Emmy suddenly finds herself surrounded by new friends. And with sizzling hot gardener Ryan and the infuriating (if gorgeous) accountant Alain providing welcome distractions, Nathan is fast becoming a distant memory.

Fresh coffee and croissants for breakfast, feeding the hens in the warm evening light; Emmy starts to feel quite at home. But it would be madness to walk away from her friends, family, and everything she’s ever worked for, to take a chance on a place she fell for on holiday – wouldn’t it?

Fans of Jenny Colgan, Lucy Diamond and Nick Alexander will want to join Emmy for a glass of wine as the sun sets on the terrace at La Cour des Roses.

This book is available from a variety of sources including

amazon.co.uk           amazon.com          barnes and noble

Advertisements

3 comments on “Review: The Little French Guesthouse by Helen Pollard

  1. Pingback: Review: Return to the Little French Guesthouse by Helen Pollard | splashesintobooks

  2. Maricela Ortiz
    January 8, 2017

    Love, love, love the settings at the south of France. I just took in all the characters and saw me there on the happenings of the cottage. The expats and their reason for being there. The book just a funny feel good read. The way the surroundings were capture at every turn just took me back to France and all the countryside.

    The story with the twist it takes regarding Emmy failure and succeeding in romance and friendship.

    Like

    • bicted
      January 8, 2017

      I loved this novel – and the sequel – too! Thanks for commenting 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Monthly archive of posts

%d bloggers like this: