splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

Author Interview: Elley Arden

Elley ArdenWhilst posting the Blog Tour  including my review for ‘The Change Up’ by Elley Arden, I am very happy to tell you that the author also kindly agreed to be interviewed – so carry on reading to discover her responses to my questions! 

Where did you get the inspiration for the book/series?

My very first series (Kemmons Brothers) was a baseball-related series, but it focused more on the three brothers repairing their relationships than the sport. I knew at some point I wanted to return to baseball but in a way that let me really cover the game. As is often the case, I used my husband, who is an MLB team physician, as a sounding board. In his early career, he was the team physician for an independent professional baseball team, and that gave me the idea for the Arlington Aces.

What is your writing process? Do you write using pen and paper or on a computer?9781440568787.indd

I write on the computer, but I take a copious amount of notes on my iPhone. Before I ever start writing a book, I spend a lot of time thinking about it, and those thoughts often end up as word-for-word conversations between characters in my head. When that happens, I whip out my phone and write what I hear, and then I transfer that information into the appropriate spot in the manuscript later. Between time spent thinking about the characters and the storyline, and actually writing the book, I spend a few days creating a plot outline. I have a love-hate relationship with that part of the process, but I’ve learned it’s necessary to keep me on track.

Who is your favourite character out of your stories and why?

I have a very soft spot for Nel and Grey in CHANGE MY MIND: KEMMONS BROS. 2. Grey is my ultimate hero. He’s a professional baseball player who knows his way around a home renovation. He loves dogs. He has a strong sense of honor and duty. And he knows how to romance a lady. He’s pretty much perfect.

The Change Up CoverIf you were a character in your story, which would you like to be?

If I were a character in THE CHANGE UP, I would want to be Rachel. I can’t think of anything more exciting than owning a baseball team—except maybe getting to go home and crawl into bed with that team’s star first baseman, Sam Sutter.

How and why did you choose the names for your main characters?

Sam Sutter and Rachel Reed were actually names for characters from an earlier, unrelated manuscript. That story had flaws that I couldn’t easily fix, so I set it aside, but every now and then I thought about Sam and Rachel. When I had the idea for the Arlington Aces series, I immediately knew Sam and Rachel would get another chance here, and in Arlington is definitely where they belong.

Many thanks to Elley Arden for agreeing to answer my questions and to Barclay Publicity for liaising and providing additional materials for this post – and an ARC of ‘The Change Up’ for me to read, in exchange for my honest review.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 19, 2016 by in Author Interview and tagged , , .

Monthly archive of posts

