splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

Author Interview: J A George

GiftedOn May 23rd, 2016 I posted a tweet saying how much I’d enjoyed this book, tagging the author in the tweet…. I usually do that after I’ve written and posted the review but this book was just too good for me to wait till I’d done that (To be honest, the sun was shining and I’d got some hedges to get trimmed. You see I do things other than read books, but only sometimes). Anyway, nothing wrong there, you’d think – until the author kindly replied to tell me the book I’d named wasn’t hers! I’d got the right author but the wrong title – whoops!! After apologising and, later, posting my review more tweets were exchanged and in the last one I shared my “Giving Space To Authors” page and, amazingly, JA George agreed to be interviewed – so here are their responses for you all to share:

Where did you get the inspiration for the book/series?

To be honest, I started writing Gifted because I wanted to read it. I read a lot of YA books, but I was getting a little tired of the strong heroine who fights crime on a daily basis. Not that there’s anything wrong with that trope! I just wanted something different to read, something about someone I could relate to. So, I wrote Gifted and centred it on a size twelve university student with a penchant for dry humour.

What is your writing process?

I write whenever something pops into my head. I use to try and give myself deadlines, but then I’d feel pressure to complete a certain number of words at a certain time and I’d end up rushing and it would turn out terribly, and then I’d have to spend a lot of time editing it and… yeah, eventually I gave that up. Now I just write whenever a thought pops into my head and that usually leads to quite a few pages and it snowballs from there.

Do you write using pen and paper or on a computer?

Pen and paper than I type it out with more detail added.

Who is your favourite character out of your stories and why?

I love them all, I really do, because I know how their stories develop and they’re all so fascinating and entertaining in in their own way, but if I had to choose, it would be Ava. I chose Ava because I’ve been through a lot with her character. The version of Gifted that is out now is edition two and edition one was a novel I wrote to make readers happy, even though I ended up disliking it myself. I desperately wanted my book to sell and be popular amongst readers, so I tried to create a female protagonist based on other best-selling YA protagonists I’d read about already. Due to that, Ava turned out to be someone who bored me because she wasn’t anything new or special. After two years of writing like this I stopped and went back to writing what I wanted to read. Now, I can relate to Ava and I feel very connected to her, as strange as it may sound.

If you were a character in your story, which would you like to be?

Baleigh’s pretty awesome. I have a very soft spot for Faye, though.

How and why did you choose the names for your main characters?

They’re just names I like and they happened to fit their personalities so well!

Here are some links sharing ways you can find out more about this amazing book and its author:

Blog: www.thejourneyofgifted.com

Twitter: https://twitter.com/JGeorgie_

Amazon US: http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_noss/182-5427114-8218342?url=search-alias%3Daps&field-keywords=Gifted+J.A.+George

Amazon UK: https://www.amazon.co.uk/s/ref=nb_sb_ss_c_0_12?url=search-alias%3Dstripbooks&field-keywords=j.a.+george+gifted&sprefix=j.a.+george+gifted%2Caps%2C263

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/29915954-gifted

My review of ‘Gifted’ 

My thanks go to the amazing Jessica George for writing this amazing book, being kind with my mistake and agreeing to be interviewed! As I’ve said to her, I can’t wait for the sequel to ‘Gifted’ being released and highly recommend this novel to you all 🙂

2 comments on “Author Interview: J A George

  1. Jim
    June 3, 2016

    Saved as a favorite, I really like your web site!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Monthly archive of posts

