splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

Author Interview: Kathryn Knight

Kathryn KnightMany thanks to the author who suggested Kathryn Knight got in touch with me! Whoever you are, you were right when you thought I’d love her novel ‘Haunted Souls’. I’ll be honest and say I’d not heard of Kathryn before then but the blurb was intriguing and I was hooked! I loved this multi-genre novel and, after reading it, I asked her if she would agree to be interviewed – and she said yes! So read on to discover her answers to my questions and learn a little more about this very talented author:

Where did you get the inspiration for the book/series?

My sister and I are big fans of everything spooky, and one summer when she came to visit me on Cape Cod we went on a “Haunted Historical Tour” of the area that included a stop at the oldest wooden jail in America.  The structure is considered actively haunted by paranormal societies, and I started imagining what would happen if a ghost from the jail followed someone home.  From there, the characters began forming in my very active imagination!

What is your writing process?

I think I’m unusual in that I don’t set goals and I don’t have a regular writing time.  I have teenagers, pets, and several part-time jobs, so I write when I can.  Most of my ideas play out in my mind like movie scenes, and I capture them as soon as I have time.  Luckily, I have a good memory!

Do you write using pen and paper or on a computer?

I keep little notebooks and scraps of paper everywhere so I can write down lines and ideas as they come, then I type on the computer when I have a chance.  I keep the full manuscript on the computer and thankfully I type fairly quickly.

Who is your favourite character out of your stories and why?

That’s a tough one!  Probably Rain Anderson from Silver Lake, since she was the first heroine I wrote and I based a lot of her and her group of friends on my own high school group.  I actually stole the scene between Rain and Jason on the beach during a meteor shower from my own life…something similar happened with me and a good friend who is now my husband!

If you were a character in your story, which would you like to be?HauntedSouls_w10664_300

Another tough one!  At the moment, the answer is Emily Shea from Haunted Souls, since that’s my latest release and I feel I’ve “been” her for the last year and a half, writing from her deep point-of-view.  Plus, not to give away spoilers, but she has some exciting things to look forward in her life, not to mention a very hot military hero who’s madly in love with her.

How and why did you choose the names for your main characters?

Most of the time, the names just present themselves…the characters tell me what their names are.  Sometimes I have several choices I like, and I look up meanings of names to see what fits best.  For the half-angel, half-human in Divine Fall, I did a search to find a name that would fit his biblical lineage, and the male name “Dothan” came up, which is the name of an ancient city once located in Israel.  It was perfect for him, and the meaning of his name (“law” or “custom”) eventually factored in to the plot as well.

Thank you for having me!

 The pleasure is all mine, Kathryn – thank you for getting in touch and writing such an awesome novel!
Check out my review of ‘Haunted Souls’ here.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 3, 2016 by in Author Interview and tagged , , , , , , , .

Monthly archive of posts

