splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

Review: The Last Days of Summer by Sophie Pembroke

Title: The Last Days of Summer The Last Days of Summer

Author: Sophie Pembroke

Publisher: Carina UK

Pages: 228

Date of Publication: June 9th, 2016

Rating: 4/5

My Review:

It has been two years since Saskia last visited her childhood home but her Grandfather has rung to invite her to attend the celebrations for his fiftieth wedding anniversary. She left without explaining why to him but he has remained in touch, helping her throughout her self-imposed exile. Dare she return and face the consequences of her actions?

Whilst many things remain the same, she no longer feels welcomed by most of her family. Her grandmother is coldly aloof, her sister ignoring her and even her grandfather’s new assistant, Edward, seems to know all about what happened and is judgemental in his attitude. Her father and grandfather, however, both welcome her. Can she get through the weekend without everyone learning her secret shame?

This is a story where family secrets are uncovered, including a possible murder, an unknown marriage discovered and dilemmas are pervasive. There is plenty of intrigue, a potential romance, an unexpected death and the threat of memoirs to reveal all. It was an enthralling read with a great mix of characters, set in a huge family home – complete with a ghost – and only by revealing secrets and facing the truth will they all be able to move forward.

This is a thought-provoking read, a great page turner, showing how only by acknowledging and facing facts, making peace with the past, can the future be happily anticipated.

Thanks to the author, publishers and NetGalley, too, for letting me read this in exchange for my honest review.

Synopsis:

Escape to the beautiful world of Rosewood this summer The only feel good summer read you’ll need, The Last Days of Summer is perfect for fans of Harriet Evans, Debbie Johnson and Lucy Diamond.

Saskia has always loved Rosewood. It was her family home, her sanctuary and her memories of it are vividly alive even after two years of being absent. Never did she think she would be standing in the rose garden afraid to cross the threshold and own up to the past she had run away from.

So much about Rosewood hasn’t changed, everyone still dresses for dinner, sips cocktails on the terrace, her father cooks every delicious meal and her beloved grandfather still tells spellbinding stories. But the cold reception from her grandmother, Ellie’s complete avoidance of her and the judgmental gaze of Edward, her grandfather’s new assistant (who seems to know more than enough about her past), are all new to Kia.

All Kia needs to do is attend her grandparent’s Golden Wedding Party and make it to the train station without her secret coming out. What could possible go wrong in just one weekend?

This book is available from a variety of sources including

Amazon (UK)         Amazon (US)        Barnes and Noble

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Information

This entry was posted on June 10, 2016 by in Adult and tagged , , , , , , , , , .

Monthly archive of posts

%d bloggers like this: