splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

Blog Tour, Review and Author Interview: Tempting Mr Wrong by Kerri Carpenter

Title: Tempting Mr. WrongTempting Mr Wrong

Series: The Wrong Man #2

Author: Kerri Carpenter

Publisher: Entangled Lovestruck, Entangled Publishing

Release Date: June 13, 2016

My Review:

This is a second chance military romance with great characters and an engaging plot. I  really enjoyed the first book in the Wrong Man series, Kissing Mr Wrong, and this sequel is even better! 

Even through his childhood, Lance Townsend has followed the rules and had a very regimented life but he’s about to finish serving in the Army and he can’t wait for the freedom to do what he wants, when he wants and where he wants. It as he anticipates his freedom that he receives a letter written by his best friend, Chris Quigley, before he tragically died. In the letter Chris asks that, should anything happen to Chris and his wife, Lance should check that all is well with Chris’s daughter (who is also Lance’s goddaughter) and Chris’s sister. Lance met and was seriously attracted to Carly, the younger sister of Chris and one of the bridesmaids when Chris got married. Their attraction was mutual but Lance knew better than take things any further with his best friend’s baby sister. Now Chris is gone so Lance goes to check up on the Quigley red heads – Carly and Mya – just hoping he can still resist temptation!

I have no hesitation in highly recommending this for anyone who enjoys second chance military romances – this is a delightful, sweet read with an adorable four year old orphan to add the aww factor! A story of living after grief, doing the best you can for the survivors and taking a chance on love. The contents of the final part of the letter is brilliant adding to the family feeling of this delectable, well crafted story. 

Many thanks to the author, publisher and NetGalley, too, for gifting me an ARC of this novel in exchange for this, my honest review.

Description:

A little temptation never hurt anyone…

Lance Townsend craves freedom after years living a structured existence in the Army. But just as he’s about to start on his bucket list, Lance receives an unexpected request: check in on his goddaughter. The problem? The adorable little girl’s aunt is the one woman he’s never been able to forget.

Carly Quigley can’t believe her brother’s best friend, the man who jilted her years ago, is at her door. He claims her brother asked him to check in on her niece and their fixer­upper, but all either of them can focus on is their undeniable attraction. Carly knows Lance is counting down the hours to leave, which makes him the wrong man for her. Unfortunately, the wrong man has become oh­ so­ tempting.

Links: Amazon (UK)  |  Amazon | B&N | iTunes | Goodreads

 

An Excerpt to whet your appetite!

“Thank you,” she whispered.

“For what?” He was shocked to hear his breathing sounded so labored.

“For giving me the afternoon off. For making that cake. For helping with Mya when I botched everything. It’s a lot easier with you here.” She blushed. “A couple days ago, I would have never thought I’d say that.”

He kissed the tip of her nose. “Yeah, you didn’t seem too thrilled to see me.”

“No, I was…okay.” She laughed. “I wasn’t. To be honest, I was still thinking about my brother’s wedding. I’d never understood why you’d left me so abruptly back then.”

Warning bells sounded in the back of his mind at the mention of her brother. His best friend. It felt like a broken record was playing on repeat in his brain. And that record was titled Off-Limits, Off-Limits, Off-Limits.

Carly must have picked up on his thoughts. She took a small step back. “I know, you don’t want to kiss me. You don’t see me that way.”

He took her in from her swollen lips to the sexy business suit she still wore, to all of that amazing hair. Her eyes were practically twinkling, lighting up her fair, flawless skin. Did she have any idea how gorgeous she was? How appealing she was?

He shook his head. “That’s the problem, Carly,” he began, his voice coming out in gruff spurts. “I do see you like that. I’ve been fighting it since I got here.” He ran a hand through his short hair. “Hell, probably since Chris and Gretchen said I do.”

Her mouth fell open.

“I tell myself over and over that it’s wrong to think about you the way I do.”

A small smile played over her lips. “How do you think about me?”

He swallowed hard. “In a way that would definitely make your brother sucker-punch me in the face.”

Treat time – Read on to discover more about this author!

First, here are the answers given by this talented author to the questions I posed . . . .

Where did you get the inspiration for the book/series?

I wrote a novella for Entangled called Kissing Mr. Wrong last year. I was having some trouble writing love scenes, so I thought I would immerse myself into it by starting a book with a one-night stand. After that book was published, one of my editors suggested writing a follow-up story about a character I mentioned in passing. Not only was Tempting Mr. Wrong born, but so was the whole Wrong Man series. (I’m working on Book 3 now!)

What is your writing process?

I find that my writing process changes from book-to-book. It depends on what is happening in my life at the time, how much time I have to write, etc. In general, I’m a pantser. (A person who writes by the seat of her pants rather than plots everything out.) I love the freedom of getting an idea for a story and letting my fingers fly across the keyboard as I figure out what’s happening. However, in my everyday life, I plan out everything and make tons of lists. So I’m trying to be more organized with my writing and do a little plotting before I start.

Do you write using pen and paper or on a computer?

I mainly use a computer, except for when I’m plotting actually. And sometimes, I find myself without a computer and/or I just want a break from typing so I do pick up a pen and paper.

Who is your favourite character out of your stories and why?

Picking a favorite character is like picking between your children! Ha-ha. Every character I write is a favorite because they all have a little bit of me in them.

If you were a character in your story, which would you like to be?

For Tempting Mr. Wrong, I’d like to be one of Carly’s best friends because they have a front row seat to watch all of the fun and games. From Carly and Lance’s first “unique” meeting to the two of them figuring out how to deal with a four-year-old girl (her niece, his goddaughter) to the moment when they just can’t resist each other anymore, what’s better than watching two people fall in love!

How and why did you choose the names for your main characters?

Lance was mentioned in Book 1 of the Wrong Man series. He was best friends with John, the hero of that book. I don’t remember where or how I came up with his name. Carly was suggested by one of my editors and I thought it fit her perfectly. In general, names of characters usually come pretty easily to me very early on in the conception process. In fact, there have been books that I’ve written where all I’ve known in the beginning was a name. Then I have the fun job of figuring out who this random name is.

About the Author:Kerri Carpenter

Award­ winning romance author Kerri Carpenter writes contemporary romances that are sweet, sexy, and sparkly. When she’s not writing, Kerri enjoys reading, cooking, watching movies, taking Zumba classes, rooting for Pittsburgh sports teams, and anything sparkly. Kerri lives in Northern Virginia with her adorable (and mischievous) rescued poodle mix, Harry. Visit Kerri at her website, on Facebook and Twitter, or subscribe to her newsletter.

 

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads

Rafflecopter link:

http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/1cb55495828/?

Many thanks to Entangled Publishing for organising this tour, providing materials for this post and liaising with the author who has kindly furnished the answers for the author interview also included on this blog post today  – thank you, Kerri!

barclay publicity

2 comments on “Blog Tour, Review and Author Interview: Tempting Mr Wrong by Kerri Carpenter

  1. authorkerri
    June 16, 2016

    Thank you so much for having me on your fabulous site today! An extra glittery thank you for the wonderful review. I hope everyone loves Tempting Mr. Wrong!

    Like

    • bicted
      June 16, 2016

      The honour is all mine! Thanks for letting me read an ARC of this brilliant novel and for answering my interview questions! I’m sure everyone will love this novel – and the others in the series!

      Like

Leave a Reply

Monthly archive of posts

