splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

Review: There’s a Dragon in My Dinner by Tom Nicoll

Title: There’s a Dragon in My DinnerThere's A Dragon in my dinner

Author: Tom Nicoll

Illustrator: Sarah Horne

Publisher: Stripes Publishing

Pages: 160

Date of Publication: February 11th, 2016

Rating: 5/5

My Review:

Listening to my daughter chuckling away at this, then reading her review, meant I just had to read it for myself and I now understand her hilarity! This book is a well written, laugh out loud children’s novel with great characters and a brilliant plot, a delightful read to put a big smile on your face whether you’re a child or really just a child at heart.

When Eric’s Chinese takeaway is delivered by a school friend, he’s surprised be given an extra portion of beansprouts that he hadn’t ordered. Mind you, that’s nothing to the surprise he gets when he starts to eat them! He suspects the dragon figure in his beansprouts is a toy but it isn’t, indeed the dragon like figure is a mini-dragon called Pan who thought he’d arrived in Mexico! Not only is he like a miniature dragon but he can speak English and trusts Eric to keep him safe. Now really, Eric should have known better, but to find out what scrapes and trouble Eric ends up in through Pan, you’ll just have to read this brilliant novel yourself!

As a teacher, this is just the kind of book I was always on the look out for, the kind that inspires children to want to read for themselves and keeps them happily turning pages to find out what happens next – great for inspiring children to become readers. It could also be used as a highly entertaining class story or in guided reading sessions. It would also be easy to create a cross curriculum mini topic based on this text involving work on Geography (where/how did Pan travel?), PSHE (relationships, bullying…), DT (food – Chinese dishes, party food, planning a party…) and so much more!

This is a superb children’s story and I can’t wait to read more in the series! I highly recommend this for children aged 7+ and those who are young at heart.

Thanks to my daughter for letting me borrow her kindle to read this!

Synopsis:

As Eric empties the cartons from Friday night’s Chinese takeaway, he catches a flash of green and spots a puff of smoke… So Pan – a Mini Dragon – enters his life, and proceeds to turn it upside down. How is Eric going to explain the trail of devastation caused by one creature not much bigger than a spring roll?

A hilarious new series for fans of Jeremy Strong and Compton Valance.

This book is available from a variety of sources always remember to check and support your local book stores where possible – though, if not, online sources also include:

Amazon (UK)         Amazon (US)    

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Monthly archive of posts

%d bloggers like this: