splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

Review: Desiring Red by Kristin Miller

Series: A Dark and Dirty Tale #1Desiring Red

Title: Desiring Red

Author: Kristin Miller

Publisher: Entangled Scorched, Entangled Publishing

Pages: 55

Date of Publication: February 11th, 2016

Rating: 3.5/5

My Review:

I’ve read and thoroughly enjoyed books by this author in the past, so when I was contacted and given the opportunity to read and honestly review this, I jumped at the opportunity. Anyone who has followed my reviews for long will know that I don’t choose to read books which are generally classified as erotica – which this novella is. However, there is a solid plot structure in this as well as some steamy scenes making it an easy, quick read.

The heroine for the story, Ivy Douglas, tells many of the events in the first person, making it easy to relate to her and to understand her motives and feelings. Having lost both her parents in a relatively short time, she is struggling to accept her heritage as a werewolf but is following her mother’s instructions to join this particular pack so they can help her learn to shift and fit in. The pack has a special ceremony in January when pre shifters are paraded before the Alpha for him to choose or reject as he sees fit before they choosing their mate for life. Ivy was unsure who she should choose until a chance encounter in the gardens awakens her desires. Then she meets the Alpha and he’s hot, too! What on earth is the girl to do? Should she choose Reaper or Lukas – or let the Omega choose for her? Decisions, decisions, decisions!

This is a short, hot, paranormal romance with two powerful Alphas vying for Ivy’s attention but will she be won by either of them – or someone else? I’ll warn you it ends on a brilliant cliff hanger to tempt you to read the sequel as soon as you can (the same day in my case!)

Thanks to the author, publishers and NetGalley, too, for letting me read this in exchange for my honest review.

Synopsis:

I’m indecisive when it comes to my shoes. Choosing a werewolf mate who’ll be with me until I croak? Pardon me while I take some time to think on it. But a steamy encounter before the final ceremony changes everything.

Reaper, the Omega’s eldest grandson, is fiercely loyal, scorching hot, and built for pleasure. He brings down my defenses, and before I know what’s happening, I succumb to the heat in his touch and the skill of his mouth. I’ve only just met him, but I need him like no other.

As part of my pack duties, I must parade in front of the Alpha, who has first choice of the pre-shifters. Rumors of his dark desires run deep, and I’ve always been intrigued. But the forbidden passion blazing between Reaper and me is too primal to deny. By pack law, Reaper can’t have me until the Alpha makes his choice…but Reaper’s never been one to follow the rules.

This book is available from a variety of sources including

Amazon (UK)         Amazon (US)       

One comment on “Review: Desiring Red by Kristin Miller

  1. Pingback: Review: Dangerously Red by Kristin Miller | splashesintobooks

Leave a Reply

Monthly archive of posts

