splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

Guest Post: My inspirational comic book/superheroes by Marnee Blake

Marnee BlakeHi there! Thank you for having me on the blog today. I’m Marnee Blake, and I write fast-paced, action-packed YA and NA romantic thrillers. The Altered Series is a set of syfy romantic thrillers. The second book in the series, AVENGED, released from Entangled Embrace on June 27th.

Elaine asked me to stop by and give you some inspirational comic book/superheroes for my series.  I love superheroes. My series is about a group of kids who are illegally changed by a drug that expands their brain function. They are irreparably changed, can do things no one else can, and I loved playing with that. There’s something really cool about a group of people who aren’t like us that defend our civilization.

X menI grew up reading the Marvel comics. The Avengers, Ironman, Captain America… Now, I drag the husband to all the movies.  Guardians of the Galaxy.  I’m incredibly excited about the upcoming Suicide Squad movie.

But, I really adored the X-Men.  My books definitely rose out of my love for those comic books and the cartoon. There’s no school, no genetic mutations, no Professor X… nothing like that.  But, they are different from everyone else, outcasts. That’s something we can relate to. Everyone has felt like an outcast at one point in their lives, I think. They are people who have to hide because they’re so different from others, but they are trying to do what’s right. 

I’ve enjoyed the movies, but I still think the cartoon was my favorite.  It came on right after GI Joe (another favorite cartoon) and my brother and I watched as often as my mom would let us. I love that characters are still people, inside there. They have human flaws and weaknesses. There’s something really sympathetic about them.

AvengedAlteredSomething I adore about the superhero genre of movies, comics, books, etc, is that the superheroes struggle with what they can do. There are times they feel like no matter what they do, they are still failing. And isn’t it universal to think that we aren’t good enough ever? To be hard on ourselves? Because these characters have the capacity to do huge things, their capacity to feel like they’re messing up is pretty huge, too.

And, there’s the high stakes. Life or death doesn’t get bigger than what superheroes do.

So, tell me!  Who are your favorite superheroes? 

Thank you again for having me! 

Marnee, hosting you is definitely my pleasure, thank you for agreeing to write this guest post!  I’ve loved reading your post as well as reading and reviewing both ‘Altered‘ and ‘Avenged‘. I can’t wait for the next book in this action packed series to be released so I can find out what happens next!

3 comments on “Guest Post: My inspirational comic book/superheroes by Marnee Blake

  1. Marnee Blake
    July 6, 2016

    Thanks for having me on the blog today!! This was a super fun post to write!

    Liked by 1 person

    • bicted
      July 6, 2016

      Thanks for visiting – it was a great post to read (and I’m loving this series of novels from you, too!)

      Like

      • Marnee Blake
        July 7, 2016

        Oh, I’m so glad you’re enjoying it! 🙂 Thanks for reading!

        Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 6, 2016 by in Guest Post and tagged , , , , , , , , .

Monthly archive of posts

