splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

Review: There’s a Dragon in My Backpack by Tom Nicoll

Title: There’s a Dragon in My BackpackDragon in my Backpack

Author: Tom Nicoll

Illustrator: Sarah Horne

Publisher: Stripes Publishing

Pages: 144

Date of Publication: May 5th, 2016

Rating: 5/5

My Review:

I have to say a big thank you to my daughter for introducing me to this hilarious series! After discovering a mini dragon, Pan, in his beansprouts, Eric is now caring for him and trying to keep him safe. The main problem is that Pan gets bored when left home alone and really wants to see what happens when Eric is in school. You just know there’ll be trouble when Eric agrees to take Pan into school with him – provided Pan stays in his backpack. Needless to say, Pan goes exploring and you’ll just have to read it yourself to find out what happens there! If that wasn’t bad enough, further escapades ensue when Eric’s neighbour, Toby, dragon-naps Pan to take him to his school’s ‘Show and Tell’. Get ready for more fun and adventures as Eric and his friends set out to rescue Pan before he is revealed to the watching school!

As I said for ‘There’s A Dragon in my Dinner’,  this is just the kind of book I was always on the look out for as a teacher, the kind that inspires children to want to read for themselves and keeps them happily turning pages to find out what happens next – great for inspiring children to become readers.

This is a superb sequel, a delightful children’s story and I can’t wait to read more in the series! I highly recommend this for children aged 7+ and those who are young at heart, brilliant for putting a smile on you face whatever your age!

Thanks to the author, publishers and NetGalley for gifting me a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.

Synopsis:

Book two in a hilarious new series featuring one boy and a little dragon with an oversized appetite for adventure. Eric finally succumbs to Pan’s demands and agrees to take the Mini-Dragon to school with him. But Eric gets more trouble than he bargained for when nightmare neighbour Toby switches his backpack with Eric’s and dragon-naps Pan! Now Eric must dash across town to Toby’s posh school and swap them back before his snappy secret is out! Perfect for fans of Jeremy Strong and Compton Valance.

This book is available from a variety of sources always remember to check and support your local book stores where possible – though, if not, online sources also include:

Amazon (UK)         Amazon (US)    

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Monthly archive of posts

%d bloggers like this: