splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

Book Blitz: Live and Let Psi by D. R.

Live and Let Psi Book Blitz

Live and Let PSISeries: Psi Fighters Academy #2

Title: Live and Let Psi by D R Rosensteel  

Author:D R Rosensteel

Publisher: Entangled Teen, Entangled Publishing

Pages: 303

Date of Publication: July 11th, 2016

Rating: 4/5

My Review:

This is the second book in the Psi Fighters Academy series and it proved an action packed, enjoyable read! The author has skilfully interwoven events from the first novel into this one, ensuring readers like me, who haven’t read the first book, are made aware of past events, so can easily relate to what happens in this sequel.

Copy of LaLP2

If you like the idea of teen superheroes out to save the world, you’ll love this! Now the superheroes on the side of good are the Psi Fighters and Rinnie Noelle is one of them. That’s actually a pseudonym for her as she’s keeping incognito as the evil leader of her enemies, Nicolaitin, kidnapped her then killed her parents when they came to rescue her. She was rescued by others and he is still seeking her. . . She’s been kept safe, brought up by Psi Fighters and trained by them to protect herself and the innocent. There’s a major problem, however, because Nicolaitin is using drugs, greed and nefarious methods to recruit and manipulate high school students to his own ends – especially to help him identify and trap her, the missing Morgan girl. The evil doers are the Walpurgis Knights and the Proletariate.


Copy of PsiFighters14Copy of PsiFighters10


Get ready for some of those bullied by the recruits to form their own group – the Dweeb League, supporting each other. Some of the Dweebs interactions are laugh out loud hilarious with super hero nicknames, tag line quotes and some really weird costumes!

Copy of LaLP6Here’s an example:

“Okay, calling the first official meeting of the Dweeb League to order. Officially. Those present say ‘aye,’ and those absent say nothing.”

“Nothing!” we all yelled.

“Let the minutes reflect that no one showed up for the meeting. Are we good, or what? No proof we’ve ever been here. Clandestine. Covert. Shaken, not stirred. That’s the Dweeb League.”

There are many issues incorporated into the story, including bullying, peer pressure, drug taking and peer networks. The story is action packed, with detailed fight sequences, plenty of teenage angst and turmoil, fall outs and a little romance.

“Do I detect romance in the air?”

“No, Kathryn, you do not. You know I’m not ready for a relationship. Not after Egon.”

“Delusional girl. Egon was not a relationship. He was a wart. Mason is a relationship.”

Let your imagination run riot with weapons created by the power of thought and other paranormal skills being wielded by these feisty mask wearing teens and the adults guiding them. A great teen read that can also be enjoyed by those who’ve left those ages years ago! I really want to read the sequel as more awaits discovery and I want to know what Rinnie will find down those stairs!

Thanks to the author, publishers and NetGalley, too, for letting me read this in exchange for my honest review.

Copy of PsiFighters2

 

Synopsis:

Rinnie Noelle would rather kick some creepy villain butt than go on a date. As a Psi Fighter trained in the Mental Arts, she can’t be distracted by emotion. Her nemesis, Nicolaitin, is manipulating students from her school, using them as puppets to carry out his new plan to find the infamous Morgan Girl, and he doesn’t care who becomes collateral damage in the process. People’s lives are depending on Rinnie’s ultimate focus.

Copy of PsiFighters3But Mason Draudimon keeps slicing into her soul sharper than a Thought Saber, and her feelings for him knock her off her game with the strength of a psionic War Hammer. Mason insists on helping Rinnie take down Nicolaitan for his own reasons—to avenge his mother—and the closer they get to the truth, the more dangerous the dance between mind and heart, life and death, logic and love.

Book Links:

Goodreads     |     Amazon    |      Barnes & Noble    |      iBooks    |      Kobo     |      Amazon.co.uk    |      Amazon.ca     |     Entangled Publishing    

Enter the Live AND LET PSI Gift Basket Giveaway!

Giveaway Info:

Live and Let Psi Gift Basket Giveaway, featuring: a signed copy of Psi Another Day, a Psi Fighter tshirt, a Psi Fighter hoodie, a Psi Fighter backpack, and a Psi Fighter Amplifier, a device that allows Psi Fighters trained in the Mental Arts to create weapons out of their thoughts!

Access the giveaway at http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/1cb55495866/

An Excerpt to whet your appetite:

Drake sauntered over to us, out of breath, and stopped right beside me, nodding as if he’d just had a lobotomy. His hair was damp with sweat, and his arms were shaking. He gazed into my eyes, and smiled like an unlit jack-o-lantern.

A sick feeling filled my stomach, and I shook my head. “No. Please. Surely not—”

“I am afraid so,” the Kilodan said.

“Why?” I whined. “I can’t be a Psi Fighter with him. All I can be is annoyed.”

“Which is exactly what we need you to be,” Andy said. “It’s the perfect cover. And you’re so good at it.”

“Let him do it,” I said, pointing to Drake. “He’s better at being annoying.”

“I’m starting to get the impression you don’t like me,” Drake said, frowning.

“Starting? What’s your IQ?”

“This isn’t a request,” the Kilodan said, somewhat sternly.

“Oh.” My first instinct was to stomp the floor and scream and throw the worst temper tantrum I could imagine. But that would give the Kilodan the mistaken impression that I was immature. So, I pinched Drake’s cheeks and pulled his mouth into a wide Cheshire cat grin.

“Okay, then. I assume I will be receiving the standard fee for babysitting this little guy.”

“You underestimate Mr. Reynolds,” the Kilodan said.

“I’m not sure that’s possible.”

“You underestimate how much that hurts,” Drake mumbled.

“No, I don’t.” I let his face snap back to normal.

“You’re beautiful when you don’t get your way. This will be fun.” Drake puckered his lips and blew me a kiss.

I fake-smiled at Drake and said, “Would you please excuse us?”

“No problem,” Drake said. He backed up a few steps to give us some room.

“Let me rephrase.” I took Drake by the shoulders, turned him toward the door, and shoved.

“Oh, right.” Drake stumbled, and disappeared through the door.

I turned to Andy. “Let me get this straight. Nicolaitan plans to hunt me down, pump me full of mind-altering drugs, and turn me into a stupid, mindless beast that hates Psi Fighters and knows all their secrets. Is that what I am to understand?”

“Actually,” Andy said, “you’d be a highly intelligent, fully aware beast that hates the Psi Fighters and knows all their secrets.”

“And how is infiltrating the Proletariat with Drake going to prevent that?”

“It could lead us to Camelot,” Andy said. “I’m beginning to think you have a problem with this plan.”

“He’s annoying. He’s egotistical. He has bad breath.”

“Your point?” Andy asked.

“Whose side are you on? Why can’t you be my partner? Drake Reynolds is more full of himself than a bean burrito. He can’t help me infiltrate anything. He’ll brag about it to the whole school. He needs to learn humility. It’s a foundation of kung fu, right? And I’d be happy to teach him. Let me spar with him. Right now.”

“No,” the Kilodan said. “I need him alive.”

“For what?” I said.

The Kilodan just stared at me.

“Drake is perfect for this mission,” Andy said. “The boy is not what he seems.”

“I certainly hope not, because he seems like a muttonhead.”

The first book in this series is ‘Psi Another Day’ – here’s its Synopsis:

THERE’S A NEW SUPERHERO IN TOWN.PsiAnotherDay_500

By day, I’m just another high school girl who likes lip gloss. But by night I’m a Psi Fighter—a secret guardian with a decade of training in the Mental Arts. And I’m about to test those skills in my first battle against evil.

BAD GUYS BEWARE.

When I was six, the Walpurgis Knights, our deadliest enemy, murdered my parents. The Psi Fighters put me into hiding, and all traces of my existence evaporated. Then I went through the most accelerated Psi Fighter training possible. And now I go to your school.

’CAUSE I WILL TAKE YOU OUT.

Unfortunately, so do the bad guys. My parents’ killer has sent his apprentice to infiltrate the school to find me. And everyone is a potential suspect, even irresistible new kid, Egon, and my old nemesis-turned-nice-guy, Mason. Fingers crossed I find the Knight before he finds me…

Book Links:

Goodreads    |      Amazon    |      Barnes & Noble    |      iBooks    |      Kobo    |      Amazon.co.uk    |      Amazon.ca    |      Powell’s Books    |      Books-A-Million    |      The Book Depository    |      Entangled Publishing

 

D.R. Rosensteel PICAuthor Information:

D. R. Rosensteel writes clean action-adventure fantasy. He grew up devouring Marvel and DC comics. He is a Batman aficionado (1960s television version) and über-fan of the television series Supergirl. He planned to be a comic strip artist but dated a girl in college with a very scientific mind, so he became a chemist instead. Fear of genetic mutation caused him to leave that field and start a consulting business so he could charge obscene fees, giving him plenty of time to write. Rosensteel lives in Pennsylvania with his wife, two daughters, and a cat. Also female. The extreme estrogen levels in his house contribute to his writing voice, and the high-pitched whining that destroyed his hearing has given him an almost supernatural ability to tune out everything and concentrate on his characters.

Author Links:

Website: www.drrosensteel.com

Author Twitter: @DRRosensteel

Author Facebook: http://facebook.com/douglas.rosensteel

Author Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/23372782-douglas-rosensteel

Many thanks to Entangled Teen for providing an ARC of this novel in exchange for my honest review and for providing additional materials and information for this post.

2dae3-entangled-teen

One comment on “Book Blitz: Live and Let Psi by D. R.

  1. Pingback: Entangled Summer Carnival : Balloon Pop | splashesintobooks

Leave a Reply

Monthly archive of posts

