splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

Review: Summer at Skylark Farm by Heidi Swain

Title: Summer at Skylark FarmSummer at Skylark Farm

Author: Heidi Swain

Publisher: Simon & Schuster UK

Pages: 331

Date of Publication: March 10th, 2016

Rating: 4/5

My Review:

I’ve another favourite author! I loved this book from start to finish and, needless to say, have no hesitation in highly recommending this! It is a delightful story of a workaholic city girl, Amber, who decides to change her whole lifestyle when her boyfriend suggests she move with him to Skylark Farm, the home of his aunt and a place he loved. His aunt is now getting older and struggling to cope, Jake has happy memories of childhood times spent there and has been visiting regularly to help her but now that’s not enough and he’s decided to live and work there, inviting Amber to join him. Amber gets all the country life magazines and reads up on everything but she finds her first encounters with the dogs terrifying, the water leaking from the ceiling is chinese water torture whilst she tries to sleep, a fox is after the chickens . . . no, things aren’t quite as rosy as she’d dreamed! Despite this she’s determined to help make the farm – and her relationship with Jake – succeed. However, when Jake’s ex-girlfriend returns, troubles soon follow!

This story is superbly written, with well developed characters who quickly seem like familiar friends (or enemies!). It has a warm, cosy, country feeling packed with people working together, reliable friendships, plenty of problems to be solved, mischief to be revealed, a wedding to be sorted and innovations to be made. It is a story of moving into an existing community, prepared to work with it but also being prepared to help it grown and develop through your own hard work. There are plenty of twist and turns as the story progresses to keep the reader enthralled and the ending is brilliant!

I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

Synopsis:

Amber is a city girl at heart. So when her boyfriend Jake Somerville suggests they move to the countryside to help out at his family farm, she doesn’t quite know how to react. But work has been hectic and she needs a break so she decides to grasp the opportunity and make the best of it.

Dreaming of organic orchards, paddling in streams and frolicking in fields, Amber packs up her things and moves to Skylark Farm. But life is not quite how she imagined – it’s cold and dirty and the farm buildings are dilapidated and crumbling.

But Amber is determined to make the best of it and throws herself into farm life. But can she really fit in here? And can she and Jake stay together when they are so different?

A story of love in the countryside from the author of the bestselling The Cherry Tree Café. Perfect for Escape to the Country dreamers, Cath Kidston fans and Country Living addicts!

Praise for The Cherry Tree Café:

‘A heart-warming sweet treat of a read’ Mandy Baggot

‘Fans of Jenny Colgan and Carole Matthews will enjoy this heartfelt debut novel from talented new author, Heidi Swain. The Cherry Tree Café is that most delicious of things – a warm and gently funny story of reinvention, romance, and second chances that you’ll devour in one sitting’ Katie Oliver, author of the bestselling ‘Marrying Mr Darcy’ series

‘The Cherry Tree Café is every bit as delicious as the cover promises. Drop in for a minute, and the fabulous world of the crafting cafe wraps itself around you, pulling you in right from the first page. Beautifully written, with a heroine I rooted for all the way, and a great supporting cast. Original and assured, and like a cup of Orange Pekoe tea – perfect to enjoy in the afternoon’ Jane Linfoot, author of The Vintage Cinema Club

This book is available from a variety of sources including

Amazon (UK)         Amazon (US)        Barnes and Noble

Advertisements

2 comments on “Review: Summer at Skylark Farm by Heidi Swain

  1. kraftireader
    August 11, 2016

    From the cover to the synopsis to your review I know it’s going to be on my wishlist.

    Like

    • bicted
      August 11, 2016

      I hope you enjoy it as much as I did! Thanks for commenting xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Information

This entry was posted on August 11, 2016 by in Adult and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , .

Monthly archive of posts

%d bloggers like this: