splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

Release Blitz + Author Interview: An Indecent Proposal by Katee Robert

AnIndecentProposal_banner

When a no strings attached arrangement turns into something more, Cillian O’Malley and Olivia Rashidi must overcome the family ties that bind them. Fans of Jackie Ashenden’s Make You Mine and Kresley Cole’s The Master, will devour the super steamy and fast paced third book, An Indecent Proposal in the wildly popular O’ Malley series by NYT and USA Today Bestselling Author Katee Robert. This is a longer than usual post because, as well as information on the book, I’m also sharing an excerpt from it, information about the author and her answers to questions I posed, so keep on scrolling!

Title: An Indecent Proposal   An Indecent Proposal Cover

Author: Katee Robert

Series: The O’Malley Series #3

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Release Date: August 30, 2016

Publisher: Grand Central Publishing- Forever

Synopsis:

Greed. Ambition. Violence. Those are the “values” Olivia Rashidi learned from her Russian mob family-and the values she must leave behind for the sake of her daughter. When she meets Cillian O’Malley, she recognizes the red flag of his family name . . . yet she still can’t stop herself from seeing the smoldering, tortured man. To save her family, Olivia sets out to discover Cillian’s own secrets, but the real revelation is how fast-and how hard-she’s falling for him.

Plagued by a violent past, Cillian is more vulnerable than anyone realizes. Anyone except Olivia, whose beauty, compassion, and pride have him at “hello,” even if she’s more inclined to say good-bye to an O’Malley. While his proposal of sex with no strings seems simple, what he feels for her isn’t, especially after he learns that she belongs to a rival crime family. Cillian knows that there is no escape from the life, but Olivia may be worth trying and dying for . . .

Get More information at: Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Kobo | iTunes

Read my review here or an excerpt here (there’s another below)!

1

Rafflecopter Direct link: http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/b050ef29271/?

Author Information:

New York Times anKatee_Robert_authord USA TODAY bestselling author Katee Robert learned to tell her stories at her grandpa’s knee. She found romance novels at age twelve and it changed her life. When not writing sexy contemporary and speculative fiction romance novels, she spends her time playing imaginary games with her wee ones, driving her husband batty with what-if questions, and planning for the inevitable zombie apocalypse. 

Keep scrolling down for a real treat – as Katee answers some of my questions after sharing an excerpt from this novel! 

Connect with Katee at: Website | Facebook | Twitter| GoodReads | Instagram |

3

An Excerpt to whet your appetite:

“Hey, stop!”

She ran after him, thankful she’d put on her badass studded boots instead of the pair of heels she’d been jonesing after. An eight-hour shift on her feet would have her hating herself if she’d gone with the pretty shoes—and they would have made it impossible to catch up with the O’Malley.

She grabbed his arm and froze at the feel of his muscles flexing in her grip. Holy wow.

He finally turned to face her and it struck her that, without the bar between them, he was so much larger than she was. Not large like her ex, Sergei—this man was built lean instead of for brute strength—but he still dwarfed her. And he smelled good, like some kind of spicy men’s cologne that instantly had her thinking thoughts she had no business entertaining.

Like what it would be like to bury her nose in his neck and inhale deeply. The insane desire to do so almost overwhelmed her.

Everything about him was overwhelming, from his beautiful face, to his impeccably styled dark hair, to the tattoos peeking out of his clothes at neck and wrists. The ink creeping up the side of his neck was like a wild thing trying to escape from his insanely expensive suit, a strange combination of brutal strength and poised polish that she should have known better than to be attracted to.

Except, apparently, her body hadn’t gotten the memo.

She realized she was still clutching his arm and made herself let go so she could offer back the cash. Right, because that’s why you chased him down a dark street. “I don’t want your money.”

“It’s called a tip, sweetheart. It’s just good manners.”

“I don’t want it.” Even as she said it, she wondered why she was being so damn stubborn about this. He hadn’t asked anything of her. All he’d done was throw too much money at a bartender, which was something plenty of drunks did from time to time. Except he wasn’t drunk. She should be elated at having the extra cash—God knew she needed it. Instead, there was a growing recklessness in her chest, one she’d thought she’d outgrown a long time ago. “Just take it, okay?”

“No.” His gaze narrowed on her face, giving her the sudden thought that he saw too much. Before she could decide what to do with that, he moved closer, giving her another whiff of that cologne that made her whole body break out in goose bumps. Or maybe it was the man himself, the streetlights creating a skeleton’s mask of his face, turning his eyes into dark pits of shadows. “Why do you care so much?”

“Oh my God, just take it back.” She should drop the cash and head for home. Or, hell, at least take a few steps away so that she wasn’t in danger of brushing against him if she took a deep breath.

But she couldn’t force her hand to unclench or her feet to create any distance between them. She cleared her throat, trying to get her thoughts back on track. “I didn’t ask for your charity.”

“Yeah, I got it. You win. I’m an asshole.”

“I didn’t say that.”

“Not in so many words, no.” His gaze raked her body much the same way it had back at the bar, making every alarm in her head go off. Spending any more time in this man’s presence was dangerous, though she couldn’t say for sure what she was most afraid of. She lifted her chin in challenge, demanding…She wasn’t sure what she was demanding. Her gaze dropped to his mouth, and she licked her lips. What am I doing? Walk away. Walk away right now.

No. Not yet.

He murmured, “If the shoe fits…”

And then he gripped her jaw and kissed her.

Treat time! 

On the lines of ‘it shouldn’t happen to an author’, do you have any funny memories to share?

Oh man. I was on a second date with this guy and he made the mistake of taking me to a haunted theme park. It was all fine and dandy until dudes with chainsaws chased me. I’m running and didn’t realize my date was right behind me, so when he grabbed my shoulders, I instantly turned into a MMA fighter and spun around and punched him in the face… Which maybe wouldn’t have been so bad, but then I laughed about it for 20 minutes straight while he bled from the mouth.

Whoops.

 

What childhood memories of writing do you have?

My first story was in…second grade, I think. It was supposed to be “The Cousins and Sharky” go on an adventure, but I accidentally forgot the “r” in “Sharky” so he became “Shaky.” I still have that book, typos and all!

Who are what are your ‘Mobster’ inspirations?

I’ve actually known people with ties to the Irish mob in the past, but my favorite mobster is still Viggo’s character from Eastern Promises. I love that movie entirely too much.

What are your favourite stories that inspire you?

Anne Bishop’s Black Jewels Trilogy is…there aren’t words enough. They are my ultimate comfort read, and I always find myself craving them during the winter, so I reread on an annual basis.

 

Thank you so much for answering my questions, Katee – and for writing such a brilliant series of books!

Thanks also to Barclay Publicity for organising the tours promoting this book, giving me an ARC of the book in exchange for my honest review and providing additional materials to be used as part of the posts.

barclay publicity

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Monthly archive of posts

%d bloggers like this: