splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

Review: Mercenary by Michele Mannon

Series: Deadliest Lies, #2Mercenary

Title: Mercenary

Author: Michele Mannon

Publisher: St Martin’s Press, Swerve

Pages: 280

Date of Publication: September 6th, 2016

Rating: 4/5

My Review:

I had thoroughly enjoyed the first book in this series, Rogue, so when I was offered the opportunity to read an ARC of the second I didn’t hesitate – I jumped at the chance – and I am very glad I did! This is another romantic suspense and continues the story started in the first book – personally I think it helps to have read the first book before this one, but that’s only my opinion.

This time it is Kylie’s sister, Madelyn, that is at the centre of much of the action, however unwittingly as she has no idea about what her sister has been involved in or why others are determined to find her. It is Madelyn’s 20th birthday and she’s home alone, her Dad was murdered, her Mum died and now her big sister keeps disappearing with no explanation. The good news is that she’s been accepted at the college she wanted to study Marine Biology and been given a full scholarship, too. So why is there a strange man with a knife sat on the step of her trailer home? The stranger is Declan and the story is told from the points of view of Madelyn and Declan. Sorry, you’ll have to read it yourself to find out what happens!

This is an action packed suspense with so many twists and turns it keeps the reader turning pages to determine just what is going to happen next. The characters are brilliantly developed – warts and all! There is seriously hot chemistry between Madelyn and Deacon and some very detailed descriptions of the sexual interactions between them, bordering on erotica (something I normally avoid reading – this would have been a 5* read for me without these details, but that’s just me, I know!). However, I really want to know what happens next with TORC and to know Diego’s story so it just goes to show how great the plot of this series is.This is a story of an ice man being melted and a naive, innocent young lady proving herself to be strong, determined and a force to be reckoned with in the underworld populated by deception, double dealing, mobsters, terrorists and, of course, mercenaries!

I was gifted a copy of this book by St Martin’s Press via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Synopsis:

Sometimes in life, choices just aren’t part of the plan. When fate interferes and bulldozes right over you.

That’s how I felt the first time I saw him. Standing in my kitchen, soaking wet, hotter than a man has the right to be, and holding a knife.

Declan’s cold, stone-cold. I can’t help but want him. His presence stirs up some raw emotion within me. He seems so…alone. But is he here to kill me or save me?

He’s the one man I should never want…and the one I can never forget.

This book is available from a variety of sources including

Amazon (UK)         Amazon (US)        Barnes and Noble

Leave a Reply

Monthly archive of posts

