splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

Blog Tour + Review: The Fixer by Jenny Holiday

fixer_blitzbadgeThere’s no such thing as a lost cause.

Out Sept 13th – the first book in the New Adult College Romance series: New Wave Newsroom

Title: The Fixer  

Series: New Wave Newsroom #1

Author: Jenny Holiday

Genre: New Adult Romance

Release Date: September 13, 2016

Length: 35k words

Format: Digital/Paperback

Digital ISBN: 978-0-9950927-1-6

Paperback ISBN: 978-0-9950927-0-9

Jenny Fields is a crusader. The editor of her college newspaper, she never met a cause she couldn’t get behind. So when the administration announces it’s tearing down the historic art building, she’s on the case All she needs to do is get Matthew Townsend, the art department’s boy wonder, on board. They say he his talent is unbounded. It turns out so is his ego.

Matthew Townsend cares about art. And that’s pretty much it. If he has a reputation for being moody and aloof, that suits him just fine. He doesn’t have a family worth speaking of, and as a scholarship student, he can’t afford to goof off like the preppy rich kids at his school. He certainly doesn’t care about the art building. Or about the relentlessly perky Jenny, who looks like she was barfed up by Rainbow Brite. What will it take to the preternaturally cheerful girl with the massive savior complex to leave him alone?

Available at: Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Kobo | iBooks

My Review:

I thoroughly enjoyed reading this story again! I originally read it as one of the The 80’s Mix Tape collection of stories – I enjoyed it then and enjoyed re-reading it again now. The story’s main characters are Jenny Fields and Matthew Townsend.

Jenny is, by nature, a fixer. She is the editor of the college newspaper and her current focus is on saving the historic art building which appears to be in serious danger of demolition. Jenny isn’t an artist, but she appreciates the building and is fighting to save it. Someone suggests it would be a great idea to get art alumni or students currently studying to support her campaign. That’s when she learns about loner, reclusive but highly talented Matthew Townsend.

Matthew wants nothing to do with her or saving the building. He just wants to be left alone to getting his art finished and passing his course . . . but it would be silly to turn down good food, wouldn’t it? So through pizza, sandwiches and other foods, Jenny breaks down his barriers, getting to know him and to appreciate him as a person. As the two start to click, barriers to themselves also start to disintegrated and love creeps in. Get ready for trouble ahead as someone who doesn’t like being told, “No” finds it difficult to accept. There’s plenty of twists and turns in this delightful ya romance and some surprising support towards the end.

Jenny Holiday is a highly talented author, one whose books I have thoroughly enjoyed in the past and have no hesitation in highly recommending now. 

fixer-hero-fb-post

An Excerpt to whet your appetite:

“So what can I do for you, Rainbow Brite?”

“Jenny. My name is Jenny.”

I nodded, folded my second slice of pizza in half, and shoved it in my mouth.

“I’m trying to save this building,” she said, looking around the run-down studio. When I didn’t say anything, just kept eating, she added, “You’ve probably seen the editorials in the paper?”

“Nope.”

“Or maybe you heard about the sit-in we staged?”

I shook my head.

She opened her mouth, then shut it again, as if she’d thought better about what she’d been planning to say. Her forehead furrowed so deeply above her light brown eyes that she almost looked like a cartoon. Befuddlement was actually kind of cute on her. I would have laughed if my mouth hadn’t been full.

“Well, anyway, I’m trying to get the administration to reverse its decision to tear down this building.”

I had heard about that. It wasn’t happening until the summer, and I’d be gone by then, assuming I passed the goddamn senior portfolio. “You want some?” I nodded at the pizza, realizing that since I’d finished half of it in about thirty seconds, I should probably offer her some.

“It’s a gorgeous old building.” She was clearly trying to engage me in conversation about the doomed structure.

“It’s also poorly lit and falling apart, and the ventilation sucks,” I said, partly to be contrary but partly because it was the truth. “You’re lucky I’m not working in oils, or you’d be halfway to passing out.”

“So you don’t care that this Gothic Revival masterpiece, the second-oldest building on our campus, is going to be thrown away as if it was no more than a piece of garbage?”

I helped myself to another slice—damn, that was good pizza. “That is correct.”

“So you won’t help me?”

“Help you what?”

“Save the art building.”

“That would be a no.”

She stood then—finally—her glossy pink lips pursed. She was pissed. I tried not to laugh but wasn’t quite successful. I couldn’t help it. The juxtaposition between the righteous rage and the innocent, brightly hued girl who was its source was too funny.

But I didn’t have time for funny. I didn’t have time for anything. My eyes were on the prize: graduation and then a place in Boston, where I could start showing my stuff to gallery owners or find someone who would take me on as an artist’s assistant. Or, hell, get a job flipping goddamned burgers while I looked for something better. But to do that, I needed to finish school. And to do that, I needed to maintain my focus. “Well, it’s been great chatting with you, Rainbow Brite, but I need to—”

“Everyone says you’re an artistic genius.”

It was true. But that was because everyone was blind. I would admit I had some talent, and when I arrived at Allenhurst, I might have embraced the “genius” moniker. I’d been eighteen and full of confidence. The next four years had been about having that confidence undermined as I learned about everything I didn’t know. Being self-taught before I got here meant I had zero technique and knew shit-all about the great artists of the past. Look at the painting that was currently kicking my ass, for example. I was being defeated by a goddamned phone cord. But Jenny didn’t need to know about my self-doubts. It was easier to play the part. Hopefully doing so would help me get rid of her. “Genius is such a strong word,” I drawled. “But I guess all my fans can’t be wrong.”

More books from the New Wave Newsroom coming this fall!

The Gossip: coming Oct 4, 2016:

Pre-Order from: Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Kobo | iBooks

The Pacifist: coming Oct 25, 2015:

Pre-Order from: Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Kobo | iBooks

fixer-heroine-fb-post

jennyholidayAuthor Bio:

Jenny Holiday started writing at age nine when her awesome fourth grade teacher gave her a notebook and told her to start writing some stories. That first batch featured mass murderers on the loose, alien invasions, and hauntings. (Looking back, she’s amazed no one sent her to a kid-shrink.) She’s been writing ever since. After a brief detour to get a PhD in geography, she worked as a professional writer, producing everything from speeches to magazine articles. More recently, her tastes having evolved from alien invasions to happily-ever-afters, she tried her hand at romance. A lifelong city-lover, she lives in Toronto, Canada, with her family. She is represented by Courtney Miller-Callihan of Greenburger Associates.

You can visit her online at the following places: Website Facebook | Twitter Goodreads | Amazon

Follow the tour and enter to #win a $20.00 Amazon GC and 1980’s themed adult coloring book!
Make sure to watch for books two and three coming this fall! Entries from all tours will be eligible for an additional grand prize!

Enter at: https://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/b050ef29274/?

Sept 12th
Dandelionn Wine Book Blog – Review
Library of a Book Witch – Review
More Books Than Livros – Review
Bookworm Dee Reads – Spotlight
Lipstick ‘N Lashes Chronicles – Review
Books,Dreams,Life – Spotlight

Sept 13th

OMGReads – Review
Mary Gramlich (The Reading Reviewer) – Spotlight
KeyReadThat – Review
EskieMama Reads – Spotlight
RhiReading – Spotlight
What Is That Book About – Spotlight

Splashes Into Books – Review

Sept 14th
WTF Are You Reading? – Review
A Page to Turn Reviews – Spotlight
Never Too Many To Read – Guest Post

Those Crazy Book Chicks – Spotlight

Sept 15th
Ellesea Loves Reading
– Review
Evermore Books – Guest Post
Reese’s Reviews – Review
Tangle Hearts Book Reviews – Spotlight

Sept 16th
Fiona Reads and FoodSpots – Review
Miss Riki – Review
underneath the covers – Spotlight

Many thanks to Barclay Publicity for organising this tour and providing materials for this post.

barclay publicity

One comment on “Blog Tour + Review: The Fixer by Jenny Holiday

  1. Pingback: Release Day Celebration + Review: The Gossip by Jenny Holiday | splashesintobooks

Leave a Reply

Monthly archive of posts

