splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

Review: The Blue Pool by Siobhán MacDonald

Title: The Blue Poolthe-blue-pool

Author: Siobhán MacDonald

Publisher: Canelo

Published: August 15th, 2016

Pages: 298

Rating: 4/5

My Review:

It is twenty five years since four university students decided to go away for a weekend relaxing from which only three returned. Now, someone has admitted to knowing what happened to the missing girl, Sarah Nugent. The three other girls, Ruth, Charlotte and Kathy, have grown apart since then but as their shared past impacts on the present, they reconnect and investigations reveal secrets from the past and uncover what really happened to Sarah.

This is a riveting psychological thriller, told from both the past and present as well as by the three survivors view point. The author takes readers on the journey to the truth, a journey fraught with misdirection, lies, secrets and hidden motives. Nothing is straightforward. The women have all reacted differently to their shared traumatic experience but none are particularly likeable or sympathetic characters. As more is revealed, there are further twists and turns, like exploring a maze with an over abundance of dead ends to impede your progress. Guilty secrets have been hidden for twenty five years and their revelations come to a somewhat surprising conclusion in the end.

I was initially tempted to read after reading the review of it tweeted about and posted by one of my favourite authors (thanks Darcy Boleyn!). I was lucky enough to be approved to read a NetGalley copy of it by the publishers, so I would like to give a big thanks to all concerned in letting me read a copy of this enthralling read and helping me discover another author to keep an eye out for in future!

Thanks to the publishers and NetGalley for gifting me an ARC of this novel.

Synopsis:

What really happened that weekend?

Four friends go to a remote cabin one summer. Only three return.

Life is good for university friends Sarah, Ruth, Charlotte, and Kathy: it’s summer, exams are over, and they’re escaping to a cabin by the Blue Pool. But when Sarah then disappears without a trace, life for the others will never be the same again.

Twenty-five years later, a man walks into a police station, claiming to know something about the missing girl. Suddenly, the three women – now estranged – all become suspects. Forced to revisit that horrifying weekend, they must confront buried memories and decades-old misgivings. For not everything was as it seemed, and the greater the secret, the deeper it lies…

From the author of the acclaimed Twisted River, this is another ingenious and unpredictable psychological thriller. A mesmerising exploration of loyalty, friendship, and the corrosive effects of guilt, The Blue Pool will appeal to readers of Clare Mackintosh, Paula Hawkins, and B A Paris.

This book is available from a variety of sources including

Amazon (UK)         Amazon (US) 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Information

This entry was posted on October 15, 2016 by in Adult and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Monthly archive of posts

%d bloggers like this: