splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

Blog Tour + Review: Locking Up Santa by Nikki LeClair

locking-up-santa-tour

Locking Up Santa Book Tour
By author Nikki LeClair
Tour Dates: November 8th – 15th, 2016

lockingupsantafrontcoverkindle

Blurb:

It’s the Christmas season, and seven months since Phoebe Mercer’s life dramatically changed. She went from being an overworked legal assistant, to a CEO of a popular beauty company. She moved from the bustling big city, to a quaint seaside town. She’s gone from living with a fiancé, to living with a ghost. Yet, it seems she can’t get a grip on her new life, whether it’s getting used to being a public figure, having a Chief Operating Official who hates her, or a ghost who is just too passionate. As if things can’t get any worse, Phoebe’s friend and mentor is arrest for a horrible crime many think they were capable of committing. Except for Phoebe, and her ghost.  As Phoebe races to prove her mentors innocence, and stop the company from sinking, she must deal with a face from her past that throws her in a disarray of emotion, an unwanted visitor, and old friends who seem to have abandoned her. 

My Review:

After a life changing seven months, Phoebe Mercer is now the CEO of Lavish Looks, a popular beauty company, following the death of the previous CEO who just happens to be Edie, the ghost with who keeps appearing to her and telling her what to do! As one of her more supportive colleagues, Henry, is arrested for dressing up as Santa to perpetrate crimes, Phoebe and Edie set out to prove his innocent of all charges. However, the launch of their latest (and obnoxious) product, Mistletoe Madness, is thwart with difficulties – Phoebe hates the smell of it, the slogan to promote it and the container it is going to be sold in . . . but she’s over ruled. Now the publicity company have given up, she’s going to have to do more PR herself and she just doesn’t have the know how or skills! Can she save the company? Can she rescue Henry and prove his innocence? 

Have you ever watched the old UK detective television series, ‘Randall and Hopkirk (deceased)”? This novel has definite elements of that series but with a definite twist!  It has great characters, a mystery to be solved, plenty of twists and turmoil and, to top it all, even has romance! I hadn’t read the first book in the series – but now I want to because this was such a fun story to escape into and still works well as a standalone. I’ll definitely be looking out for more by this author in future. So, if you enjoy reading novels with a great mix of humour, mystery, suspense and romance, I recommend you give this book and the series a go – hope you enjoy it as much as I did!

Many thanks to the publishers and Hello Chick Lit for gifting me an ARC of this novel. This is my honest review.

Buy the Book:

AmazonUS
AmazonUK

Want to know more about the writing style in this book?
Try reading this excerpt to see for yourself:

I’m dying.

This is it.

Being run over by a hot-dog cart would have been the easy way out. The powers that be had another plan for me; and that is to die in an excruciating way. To feel my muscles spasm, eventually snap and my heart crumple into a burning pile of ash.

The air feels sharp as it enters my lungs and I’m actually scared to continue breathing. Closing my mouth to breathe through my nose sends a choking sensation down my throat that panics me more, so I suffer with my mouth hanging open. My chest feels like its being slashed, thousands of paper cuts implode inside of me, down to my stomach.

Just kill me now.

I’m lying flat on the floor, on a grey mushy matt which offers no relief against the cold cement beneath it. My arms are at my sides, sweaty and numb. I can’t even lift my head to see if they’re swollen or something.

My knees are up, legs apart, and shaking. I watch them tremble as I heave for breath.

Sweat rolls down my forehead and into my eyes; I don’t even bother rubbing it away.

“Come on Phoebe, you just started round two!”

Shut up. Shut up, shut up, shut up!

I drop my head to the side and look over at Lana. She’s squatting down next to me. Her muscular legs pop and even as her arms drop against her knees, the veins in her forearms flex mechanically.  Her skin is shiny from sweat; her blond hair is tied back with a black headband, keeping pieces from sticking against her skin. I want to punch her in the face, but she could probably break me into pieces.

How is she not dying? She was doing the exact same thing as me!

“I—can’t.” I’m amazed the words come trickling through my lips. “S—Seriously.”

“No excuses.” She claps her hands loudly next to my face and I jolt against the matt. “Get up!”

Something catches her eye and she jumps to her feet quickly. A wave of relief washes over me as she throws a hand outward and points, her attention wavering. “Hey! Let’s go Satine, pick up the pace!”

I turn my head the other way and look across the gym. Through the hanging swings, and racks of weights, I can see Satine. She’s in the crowded part of the gym, nestled between several other Cross-fitters. She’s swinging a kettlebell up and down. She’s so concentrated, so fierce in her purple tights and matching sports bra.  I think I can actually see sweat flying off of her.

“Get to your feet Phoebe.” Lana reaches down and swats my leg. “I’ll be right back.”

My body still shakes as I watch her run from me, shouting at someone else across the room.

Okay, I can do this. I just have to get through the first few sessions. That’s what Lana said, she said it is tough and painful, and I would want to die and cry. Satine has been going for two months, twice a week, and she still cries sometimes but today I noticed just how toned her arms and shoulders are.

Compared to what Satine is doing, my work out is really easy.

All I have to do is two rounds of 100 push ups, 100 sit ups, 100 pull ups, and 100 squats.

I just started round two. I’m on sit up number 49, and I’ve only been here—

Oh my god, it’s already after ten? I’ve been here almost over two hours?

About the Author:

nikki-leclair

Nikki LeClair

Bio:

Nikki LeClair lives in Canada with her loving husband and their two rambunctious children. When she isn’t ordering her children to behave or begging her Border Terrier to listen to her, she sits behind her lap-top plotting out the next adventure of her new characters. She’s a fan of a good glass of Pinot Noir, and can’t live without her favorite Tea blends.
She enjoys hearing from readers and fans of her work. You can find her on twitter at @NikkiL_Books, and on her Facebook Fanpage Nikki LeClair

Twitter  |  Facebook  |  Goodreads  |  Amazon

Visit all the Tour Stops:

November 8th

lifeisawalkingshadow – Book Review
Novelgossip  – Excerpt/Promo Post

November 9th

Living Life With Joy – Guest Post/Promo
Grass Monster – Amazon Book Review
Judging More Than Just The Cover – Author Q&A

November 10th

Jena Books – Book Review
Hello…Chick Lit – Book Excerpt/Promo Post

November 11th

He Said Books or Me – Guest Post/Promo
Steamy Book Momma – Promo Post
Splashes Into Books – Book Review/Excerpt

November 12th

Reading Is My SuperPower – Book Review

November 13th

Reading To Unwind – Book Review/Promo

November 14th

BookLoverWorm – Book Review
Book Lover in Florida – Book Review/Promo

November 15th

Whispering Stories – Book Review/Excerpt

Tour Arranged by:

hello-chick-lit-banner

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 11, 2016 by in Blog Tour and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Monthly archive of posts

