splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

Author Interview: Connie Lansberg

connie-lansberg

I am very happy to share this interview with Connie Lansberg today. I’ve read her superb fantasy, ‘The Perfect Tear’, and couldn’t resist making the most of the opportunity to ask her some questions which she was kind enough to agree to answer . . . .

Read on to discover more for yourself!

How did you do research for your book?

My book is fantasy and I read so many fantasy/scifi books when I was younger. I had a good feel for the genre, but my actual story was prompted by my original songs and guided meditation. The pictures my mind would throw up were always so interesting and felt true. I wanted to craft a story around what I was seeing and weave it into a more simple time.

What advice would you give budding writers?

For me, outlining the major beats lets me relax and just write, because I know where I’m going. The surprises still come even with a strict outline. Also, hire the very best editor your money can buy. After that, use text to speech to proof read and to get a sense of how the words sound. Can’t go past Text to speech.

Do you have another profession besides writing?

Yes, I do and I brought it into my story. I’m a professional jazz singer and songwriter in Melbourne. In the next few months I’ll be releasing an album of ten original songs played by fabulous musicians, live in the studio. It’s called Tsera’s Gift and represents some of the songs Tsera gave Eleanor when she was six.

Do you write every day?

No, I don’t. Because I need to spend a lot of time practicing and singing, writing arrangements and such, I tend to break the week into two–my music days and my writing days. When I’m writing, I never think of singing and vice versa. However, I do not take days off. I might take a few hours off, but hardly ever a whole day.

If you were stuck on a deserted island, which 3 books would you want with you?

White Teeth by Zadie Smith, what an epic and stirring story. The Complete Works of Shakespeare (does that count as one?) so I could steal movie ideas, and War and Peace because that would be a real challenge!

If there is one thing you want readers to remember about you, what would it be?

I would hope they would know that I love to talk to them. Facebook, Twitter or email me. I love hearing what they think and any questions they may have. I always get back to everybody.

Thanks so much for the questions.

All the best,

Connie Lansberg

Check out here for more information about ‘The Perfect Tear’, my review of it and a rafflecopter giveaway associated with the blog tour!

One comment on “Author Interview: Connie Lansberg

  1. Pingback: Blog Tour + Review: The Perfect Tear by Connie Lansberg | splashesintobooks

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 22, 2016 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , .

Monthly archive of posts

