splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

Early Review: Every Body Yoga by Jessamyn Stanley

I’ll repost this review nearer to release date for the book, but just thought I’d share my review now to alert others to this book which isn’t released until April 2017…


every-body-yoga

Title: Every Body Yoga

Author: Jessamyn Stanley

Publisher: Workman Publishing Company

Published: April 4th, 2017

Pages: 232

Rating: 4/5

My Review:

I need a paper copy of this amazing book! This is the inspirational story of someone who struggled to fit into the classic image of a yoga practitioner but was resilient and determined, so much so that she truly is inspiration in encouraging others to persevere and have a go. The book is part memoir about the author’s experiences and also celebrates some of her achievements, gives background information on the different types of yoga and equipment options but it is also a fun guide to basic yoga poses. The memoirs are written in a conversational style, you could imagine Jessamyn Stanley is chatting to you about it all whilst reading them. I admit to not appreciating the repeated use of a certain (f) word but that’s me being me and I know most people won’t worry about it.

One of the best bits about the poses is that they aren’t demonstrated by the stereotypical skinny, flexible blonde but by all shapes and sizes of people. The instructions are clear and easy to follow, the photos motivating, I’d never tried yoga before but even I could follow these! This is a book for everybody, regardless of their body shape and it certainly one I’ll be looking out for when it is actually released. It even has an inspirational tag line – “Let Go of Fear. Get On the Mat. Love Your Body.” I intend trying to do just that! Hope it inspires others, too.

Many thanks to the publishers and NetGalley for gifting me an ARC of this novel with no obligation. This is my honest review.

Synopsis

From the unforgettable teacher Jessamyn Stanley comes Every Body Yoga, a book that breaks all the stereotypes.

It’s a book of inspiration for beginners of all shapes and sizes: If Jessamyn could transcend these emotional and physical barriers, so can we.

It’s a book for readers already doing yoga, looking to refresh their practice or find new ways to stay motivated.

It’s a how-to book: Here are easy-to-follow directions to 50 basic yoga poses and 10 sequences to practice at home, all photographed in full color.

It’s a book that challenges the larger issues of body acceptance and the meaning of beauty.

Most of all, it’s a book that changes the paradigm, showing us that yoga isn’t about how one looks, but how one feels, with yoga sequences like “I Want to Energize My Spirit,” “I Need to Release Fear,” “I Want to Love Myself.”

Jessamyn Stanley, a yogi who breaks all the stereotypes, has built a life as an internationally recognized yoga teacher and award-winning Instagram star by combining a deep understanding for yoga with a willingness to share her personal struggles in a way that touches everyone who comes to know her. Now she brings her body-positive, emotionally uplifting approach to yoga in a book that will help every reader discover the power of yoga and how to weave it seamlessly into his or her life.

Buy Links:    Amazon (UK)         Amazon (US)        Barnes and Noble

Leave a Reply

Monthly archive of posts

