splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

Review: The Vets at Hope Green Part 1 by Sheila Norton

Title: The Vets at Hope Green: Part One: Escape to the Country 

Author: Sheila Nortonvets-at-hope-green-1

Publisher: Ebury Digital, Penguin Random House UK, Ebury Publishing 

Published: January 19th, 2017

Pages: 296

Rating: 4/5

My Review:

This first instalment of the story manages to pack in so much emotional turmoil, taking the reader into the story from the very start. It is told from the point of view of Sam, who works as a Vets’ receptionist in London. She’s moved to the city four years ago and is starting to feel unsettled with all aspects of her life, including her relationship with her boyfriend who seems to have very different aspirations and expectations for the future.

Disgruntled, Sam decides to go to stay with her Gran in the picturesque Hope Green for a fortnight. She makes a startling discovery just before setting out, giving her lots to consider. Anticipating having time for thinking, rest and relaxation, village life has its own amazing characters and scenarios which are brought to life in the reader’s imagination. It is a great start – and I can’t wait to read the subsequent parts to the story as this, obviously, leaves so many questions awaiting answers and I just want to know more about what happens next in Sam’s life!

If you love to read about animals, human interest, emotional quandaries and superb scenery, look no further, this story set in the Dorset countryside will take you there!

Many thanks to the publishers and NetGalley for gifting me an ARC of this novel. This is my honest review.

Synopsis

PART ONE of a heartwarming and inspiring story about living the simple life and the joy of animals. Perfect for fans of Appleby Farm, Ivy Lane and Alfie the Doorstep Cat

Working as a receptionist in a London vets, Sam is living far from her idea of a simple life. She’s always broke, rents a tiny flat and is constantly arguing with her boyfriend. But the worst part is that her career is going nowhere. She wants to be a vet, but the most contact time with the animals she has is a quick hello when she books in their next appointment.

Something’s got to give, so when her parents suggest visiting her Nana Peggy in a small quiet picturesque village, she agrees, thinking a bit of R&R could do her good.

But rest and relaxation may not be the order of the day. Poor Nana Peggy’s lovely dog Rufus is unwell, and Sam can’t help but grow fond of him. With the help of Joe the local vet, a charming yet strangely distant man, Sam sets out on looking after him, despite her London life trying to call her back…

Look out for Part 2 coming soon!

Buy Links:    Amazon (UK)         Amazon (US)    

Advertisements

One comment on “Review: The Vets at Hope Green Part 1 by Sheila Norton

  1. Pingback: Review: Follow Your Heart by Sheila Norton | splashesintobooks

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Monthly archive of posts

%d bloggers like this: