splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

Author Interview: Angela March

I had read and thoroughly enjoyed ‘After August’ by this talented author so when I had the opportunity to read the first book in her latest series, The Tesla Brothers: Buteo’s Story, I just couldn’t resist. I also took the opportunity to see if she would agree to interviewed here and, as you’ll have gathered from this post, she kindly agreed! Read on to find out more about Angela March and what she has to say . . .   

angela-march

Where did you get the inspiration for the book/series?

buteos-storyThe Tesla Brothers: Are a three book series. My grandmother was half Native American Cherokee. I was home for a visit two years ago and came across old photos so that got the idea flowing. I also love Native American wisdom and sayings. Most of my favorite quotes are in the books. The three brothers’ are named after birds of prey. Buteo, Hawk. Osprey, Hawk and Aplomado, Falcon.

What is your writing process?

Something sparks the idea. All of my creative works are somehow based off someone’s real life, even my psychological thrillers, I know creepy… right? I twist and elaborate off of people’s stories and write how I see them play out. I have a beginning, middle and end in my head and fill in the rest. I’m an organic writer. I use story boards to help keep my thoughts organized. The Tesla Brothers books were all written at the same time so all the timelines and events are cohesive throughout each book. Overlapping in a few key parts so as the reader reads each book they are also getting the POV of that brother’s book they are reading. These books were the most challenging and stimulating to write to date. Two years to the month I started. I also have never written a male POV so that was challenging.

Do you write using pen and paper or on a computer?

Computer to write the story, and storyboard(s) to keep timelines and thoughts straight… and lots of post it notes for the instant ideas.a197f-after2baugust2bteaser2b6

Who is your favourite character out of your stories and why?

meet-virginiaI LOVE this question! Virginia Costello in Meet Virginia. This 3 book series is loosely based of my life and an extremely difficult time I was going through. I was born and raised in the state of Virginia. The book started out as a journal because my friends were sick of listening to me. So wala a book, and a cathartic release. That left me with one extremely long 1000 page book that I broke down into three. I had no intention of publishing them, but a good friend suggested it on something I always said. I can’t believe this sh*t happens to me. However, I’ve had a huge a eye-opening learning curve while on this journey of writing. I’m happy to say I’ve finally found a “team” of editors proof readers, bloggers, beta readers, cover designers etc. who I trust and rely on to help me pull it together. It was a HUGE learning curve and I went in blindly and got burned a few times. I’m always jump first and learn after. haha

How and why did you choose the names for your main characters?

after-augustThe Tesla Brother’s are named after birds of prey. or their Native American spirit animals. Buteo, Hawk. Osprey, Hawk and Aplomado, Falcon. In my other 6 books, Voices in Lavender, Psychological Thriller , Lavender is named after my youngest niece’s creepy doll Lavender that has those eyes that close when the doll is flat. All the others, I try to fit the name with who the character is. Like I said, all my books are loosely written after someone or something I know or have done personally. Some have named themselves haha.

That you so much Elaine for this interview. My first! It was so much fun to try and explain my creative process. We all have a different way of doing things and that’s what makes us as unique as our stories…

Cheers! Angela March

Author Information (from Goodreads):

Angela March has accomplished another “Life Goal” of writing books. Angela has always loved any and everything creative. She considers herself a “Mood Writer” and refuses to label herself or her creative works. She writes what her current mood is….
She has taken all the aspects of the stories she likes to read, compiling them into her writing style. Psychological Thrillers, Voices in Lavender: Part One, Static: Part Two releasing 2016. Sometimes combining the two. Romance with a Twist of Suspense in, After August. Her newest book to be released Mr. and Mrs. Rush, a kinky dark love story, Releasing in March. Angela adds her own personal life experiences and a dash of humor to her first three book collection: A Southern Series. Angela’s life motto is… “You have one shot at life… When my time is up, I want to slide into home saying, what a ride… what a wild ride.”

Amazon author page: www.amazon.com/author/angelamarchbooks
Facebook writers page: www.facebook.com/angelamarchbooks
Twitter: @angelamarch3
angelamarch.blogspot.com

 

Thank you, once again, for agreeing to answer my questions, Angela – I look forward to reading more of your books in future and highly recommend others check them out, too!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 12, 2017 by in Author Interview and tagged , , , , , .

Monthly archive of posts

