splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

Author Interview: Tamara Gill

Only an Earl Will doI had thoroughly enjoyed reading the Regency romance”Only an Earl Will Do“, the first book in the ‘To Marry a Rogue” series by Tamara Gill. When I requested the chance to read the second book, “Only a Duke Will Do” I also said I’d welcome any opportunity to host an interview or guest post with the author – and she has, very kindly, agreed! So now, please welcome to my blog, Tamara Gill and read on to discover her answers to my questions . . .

Where did you get the inspiration for the book/series?

I’ve always loved the banter between the Bennet sisters in Pride and Prejudice, but I wanted my heroines to be of independent means, so I made them all daughters of a powerful duke. I didn’t want them to be beholden to anyone or in desperate need to marry.

 

What is your writing process?

It varies as I have three children, my eldest only 12 and youngest 5 years. So I write when I can, usually at night or when they’re all at school. Weekends can be tricky, and with the sports my kids do, it’s really never set in concrete. But somehow I get there and the books keep getting finished and submitted.

 

Do you write using pen and paper or on a computer?

I write on a computer mostly. If I’m at work, and I’m able to jot down a few notes, then I ll use a pen and paper, but my writing is so messy and the quicker I try and get the words down the worse my handwriting becomes. LOL But normally always on computer, which I find my mind works faster and the words go down a lot easier.

 

only-a-duke-will-doWho is your favourite character out of your stories and why?

My favourite character is Alice Worthingham, who’s in book three due out in May, Only a Viscount Will Do. She’s so feisty, and strong willed, and just plain lovely. I’ve loved her from the beginning, and I think readers are really going to enjoy her story. It was a blast to write.

 

If you were a character in your story, which would you like to be?

The heroine always, but one who’s wealthy enough not to have to marry if she didn’t want to, and who would never allow a man to rule her life. Haha.

 

How and why did you choose the names for your main characters?

I literally just Google historical English names and see what was popular back in the early 19th century. I do choose a name that suits the character though, in my mind at least, and I go from there. In Only a Duke Will Do a child is called Lily, my own daughter’s name. I’ve finally made a lady out of her, literally. 🙂

 

About Tamara Gill:

Tamara is an Australian author who grew up in an old mining town in country South Australia, where her love of history was founded. So much so, she made her darling husband travel to the UK for their honeymoon, where she dragged him from one historical monument and castle to another. A mother of three, her two little gentleman in the making, a future lady (she hopes) and a part-time job keep her busy in the real world, but whenever she gets a moment’s peace she loves to write romance novels in an array of genres, including regency, medieval and time travel.

Connect with Tamara:

Visit Tamara’s website

Join Tamara’s Newsletter

Friend Tamara on Facebook

Follow Tamara on Twitter

Join Tamara’s Street Team

Review Tamara’s books on Goodreads

Many thanks to Tamara for agreeing to be interviewed and answering my questions! Check out my reviews of both ‘Only an Earl Will Do‘ and ‘Only a Duke Will Do‘ – I thoroughly enjoyed them both and recommend them to anyone who enjoys historical romance with a strong independent female character deciding whether or not to marry a rogue!

One comment on “Author Interview: Tamara Gill

  1. Pingback: Review + Excerpt: Only a Duke Will Do by Tamara Gill | splashesintobooks

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 21, 2017 by in Author Interview and tagged , , , , , , .

Monthly archive of posts

