splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

Review: There’s Something About Cornwall by Daisy James

Title: There’s Something About Cornwall

Author: Daisy James  

Publisher: Harper Collins UK, HQ Digital

Published: March 8th, 2017

Pages: 203

Rating: 5/5

My Review:

Another gorgeous book from this highly talented author. I’m so impressed with how she can bring her characters and the setting vividly to life as I read her books. It explores lots of aspects of life – from betrayal to romance, losing and gaining in confidence, attitudes and reactions – whilst travelling around the beautiful Cornish countryside in a bright orange camper van!

The heroine, Emilie Roberts, is a photographer who was supposed to be off on her dream job in Venice . . . well that was the plan before she caught her so-called boyfriend, Brad, cheating and then he had the nerve to go bad mouth her to their boss and grab not only her dream assignment but took her prize camera with him! Instead of Venice, Emilie sets off to Cornwall to take photos offend created by television chef and perfectionist Lucinda Carlton-Rose as she tours the county creating delicious desserts in a variety of locations. Lucinda has a terrifying reputation from previous photographers who worked with her – one nicknamed her “The Devil wears an apron”! Fortunately Emilie will also be working with her friend, super organised Alice who has already sorted out the layouts to be used for each location and has all the props to be used with each shoot. It is Alice who has hired the camper van – which she has also nicknamed the Satsuma Splittle! Unfortunately life just doesn’t run smoothly for Emilie but sometimes that’s a sign of better things to come – well, you can always hope, can’t you?

When Alice is unable to continue on the tour, Emilie invites hunky surf instructor Matt Ashby to drive her between the venues. From this inauspicious beginning, there are so many laugh out loud moments on their delicious journey. I loved how the characters true natures were gradually revealed as the story progressed, giving the reader the sensation of slowly getting to know them and their raison d’être. It is great how the author showed that sometimes there are great motivations for people’s apparent attitudes and behaviour – and that the facade people show to the world is just that, a facade, and they can be so different when you actually get to know them. It is a story of being brave enough to follow your dreams and aspirations, facing life and all it throws at you with a positive attitude and trying to achieve whilst enjoying life. I had a big grin when I read of the guest appearance of another of my favourite authors, TA Williams, in the story. I wasn’t so happy at Emilie’s reaction to someone else’s accident! Get ready for brilliant banter in this superb story!

There are also plenty of twist and turns – and misunderstandings, too. Nothing is really straightforward but it is still another delicious, heartwarming romantic comedy that I thoroughly enjoyed – mind you, I’ve found that true for every novel I’ve read by this hugely talented author! If you’re looking for something to cheer you up and you enjoy romantic comedy, I highly recommend you look no further – go grab yourself a copy of this story to enjoy!

Many thanks to the publishers for gifting me a copy of this novel, via NetGalley, with no obligation. This is my honest review.

Synopsis

The new delightfully uplifting romantic comedy from Daisy James. Perfect for fans of Mandy Baggot, Christie Barlow and Zara Stoneley.

A knight in a shining camper van!

Life is far from picture perfect for food photographer, Emilie Roberts. Not only has her ex-boyfriend cheated on her, he’s also stolen her dream assignment to beautiful Venice! Instead, Emilie is heading to the wind-swept Cornish coast…

Emilie doesn’t think it can get any worse – until disaster strikes on the very first day! And there’s only one man to rescue this damsel in distress: extremely hunky surfing instructor, Matt Ashby.

Racing from shoot to shoot in a bright orange vintage camper van, Matt isn’t the conventional knight in shining armour – but can he make all of Emilie’s fairy tale dreams come true?

Buy Links:    Amazon (UK)         Amazon (US)        Barnes and Noble

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Monthly archive of posts

%d bloggers like this: