splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

Blog Tour + Review: Finding Purpose by Tiffani Lynn

Finding Purpose

by Tiffani Lynn
Publication Date: April 4, 2017
Genres: Adult, Contemporary, Romance

Purchase: Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Kobo | iBooks | Books2Read

 Once upon a time, when Quincy Hannigan needed saving, he was there to hold her hand. Years have passed since she was that weak, broken girl; instead, a strong, intelligent woman stands in her place. She’s making the world a better place one arrest at a time and has everything she’s always wanted—except Judson Rivers.

When Judson’s father died suddenly, he dropped out of college and became a Navy SEAL. He left everything from his old life behind, including the girl he loved, but never told—Quincy. After ten years, Judson’s military career ends abruptly when the vehicle he’s in runs over an IED. He has his hands full learning to live with one leg, PTSD and a civilian life he wasn’t ready to return to.

Judson and Quincy are reunited when their mentor dies. Once Quincy realizes the depth of his pain, she knows it’s her turn to be the savior. Years of pent-up passion are unleashed, but it may be too late if Judson can’t crawl out of hell. Quincy has every intention of healing this wounded warrior before his demons are the ones who determine his fate.

My Review:

This is one of the most emotive, moving stories that I have read, so powerful I really can’t wait to read more in the series. It is a second chance romance, written from the alternating points of view of Judson and Quincy, as well as being a romantic suspense. In college, Judson had helped Quincy take control of her life again after personal tragedies had resulted in her becoming an alcoholic. She turned her life around even though he left to become a Navy SEAL following the death of his father. Now, more than a decade later, it is Judson who needs her support following his career ending when seriously injured by an IED. Now he faces an uncertain future, finding it difficult to come to terms with his injuries and the deaths of other members of his SEAL team. He’s using the pain medications and alcohol to help him forget everything but that’s no life. When their college mentor dies, Judson and Quincy are reunited and their attraction to each other is powerful but can they overcome their past traumas and move on to a future together?

There are some brilliant characters in this story and it doesn’t just deal with PTSD and veterans returning to civilian life, though this is a key element. The epilogue is very different. It is the only part of the story told from the point of view of a third character, Carlo, but you’ll have to read it yourself to discover who he is, his role in the lives of both Judson and Quincy and why it is so moving. The author has written an enthralling story, with superb characters, an engaging plot and a brilliant read. I have absolutely no hesitation in highly recommending this novel and can’t wait to read more in this series in future.

I requested and was given a copy of this novel with no obligation. I chose to read and review it and this is my honest opinion.

Excerpt:

As I lean back and rest my head on the back of the chair, I stare at the ceiling, thinking about the night he changed my life. I was 21 years old and I woke up with the cold bathroom floor biting into my back through my thin shirt while vague memories of the night before floated around in my mind. My mouth tasted like someone’s shoe after they walked through a cow pasture—that’s a side effect of drinking I don’t miss at all. I was sore all over, but had no idea why. I did know running into Marcus and Gwen triggered my balls-to-the-wall party mindset that night.

I recall having no idea where I was or whose leg my head was lying on. Not one of my finer moments. Looking up I found a sexy, sleepy, hunk of a man looking down at me. Usually when I woke up with little to no recollection it was with someone I didn’t know. However, this time, I did know this guy. We were both pistol team scholarship students at the university. So we saw each other, often. Judson Rivers was the hottest member of our pistol team. Let me be clear, he was the hottest member of any team, pistol or otherwise, anywhere. We were always friendly, but I never had any indication he was interested in me.

Some things stay with you forever and the tired yet concerned expression on his face is one of those things that even ten years later I can see clear as day. I tried to sit up and move away from him but the room spun so bad I had to plop my head back in his lap. At that point it became obvious the vomit odor in the air was my doing.

“Hurting this morning?” he asked, his voice gravelly from sleep.

“Um…yeah. You could say that,” I grumbled, covering my face with my hands, wishing I could hide behind them. This is not the guy you want to have seeing you in this state.

“I knew you would be. You had yourself a really good time, until you didn’t anymore.” His voice was so deep it rumbled through me, irritating and settling me all at once. Such a peculiar feeling, I remember thinking. The sarcasm would’ve pissed most people off, but it made the whacked-out situation I was in that morning less horrifying.

“Oh great, a smartass,” I mumbled.

A hearty chuckle shook his body and in turn shook my insides. My stomach rolled over again.

 

About Tiffani Lynn

Tiffani currently resides in Florida with her husband, three daughters and chunky yellow lab. She graduated from the University of Maryland with a degree in social science and spent five years working for Hospice. When she’s not writing or taxiing her children around she enjoys reading and attending concerts. Tiffani is also a crazed fan of the Tampa Bay Lightning, Tampa Bay Rays, and the 2016 World Series Champion Chicago Cubs.

Facebook | Twitter | Amazon | Goodreads | Bookbub

a Rafflecopter giveaway

4 comments on “Blog Tour + Review: Finding Purpose by Tiffani Lynn

  1. Pingback: Book Blitz: Finding Heart by Tiffani Lynn | splashesintobooks

  2. Pingback: Blog Tour, Review + Giveaway: Finding Heart by Tiffani Lynn | splashesintobooks

  3. Pingback: Finding Passion by Tiffani Lynn #Reveal | splashesintobooks

  4. Pingback: Finding Passion by Tiffani Lynn #BlogTour #Review #Romance | splashesintobooks

Leave a Reply

Monthly archive of posts

