splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

Review: Dark Alpha’s Lover by Donna Grant

Series: Reaper #4

Title: Dark Alpha’s Lover

Author: Donna Grant

Publisher: St Martin’s Press, St Martin’s Paperbacks

Published: April 18th, 2017

Pages: 162

Rating: 4/5

My Review:

I hadn’t realised this is the fourth book in a series when I requested and read it but I have to say, it still worked well even though I hadn’t read any of the earlier books. In this fantasy world there are Light and Dark Fae, humans, halflings and, the elite Death’s assassins who are the immortal Reapers. In this story Fintan is the Reaper who is carrying out an assassination when he is spotted by the half-human, half-Fae Catriona. He’s amazed when she doesn’t panic at the sight, standing, facing him and apparently both unafraid and resigned to her own fate. He discovers that her parents and siblings have all been killed and she’s assuming she will be next…..

This is an intriguing paranormal romance with strong alpha males and a feisty, strong, independent and mysterious female lead. It is an action packed story during which the author cleverly reveals aspects of the previous stories so the reader doesn’t feel like they’re missing any key information. The fantasy world is robustly constructed and great to escape into. The war that is happening is presumably the main thread running through the series and the protagonists are superbly portrayed. The romance develops well and I’m definitely looking forward to reading more in the series in future!

I requested and received a copy of this book via NetGalley without any obligation. This is my honest opinion after reading the story.

Synopsis

There is no escaping a Reaper. I am an elite assassin, part of a brotherhood that only answers to Death. And when Death says your time is up, I am coming for you…

I answer to no one but Death. I am impenetrable, impervious, immortal. I exist to do Death’s bidding and no one–not Reaper nor human nor Fae–can stand in my way. Except for the bewitching half-Fae, Catriona. She swears the magic in her family passed her by, but I know better. This woman is strong. This woman is powerful. And when her abilities surge forth, no one will be able to stop the Dark Fae from coming for her. Except for me. I want to keep her close. I want to keep her safe. I want lose myself to her, again and again…

Buy Links:    Amazon (UK)         Amazon (US)        Barnes and Noble

Leave a Reply

Monthly archive of posts

