splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

Blog Tour + Review: Dreaming of Venice by T. A. Williams

Dreaming of Venice by T. A. Williams  

Information about the Book

Title: Dreaming of Venice   

Author: T. A. Williams

Release Date: 24th April 2017

Genre: Romance

Publisher: Canelo

Format: Ebook

 

 

Summary:

Find love, friendship and prosecco – in the magical city of Venice.

Life is tough for Penny. A dead end job in a London café, a boyfriend in Australia (what could go wrong?) and an art career going nowhere. But then Penny is approached with an extraordinary proposition.

It isn’t going to be easy but, if she can pull it off, she will turn her life around and at long last see the fulfilment of her dream – to visit Venice. And, just maybe, find true happiness with the handsome man of her dreams.

But can dreams come true?

Goodreads Link: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/34597482-dreaming-of-venice

Amazon Link: https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B06XN5V1YR

My Review:

This is another delightful story, one that I thoroughly enjoyed and highly recommend you read the book, rather than reading my review as the book is so much better!

This is reminiscent of those rags to riches fairy stories from childhood but with a very contemporary twist – and the heroine has no wicked step-relations! It is a story of a young lady who is working hard, striving to better herself, dreaming of visiting Venice, but everything seems to be going wrong for her until a stranger arrives and suddenly her dreams might just come true! I really don’t want to give any spoilers, so forgive me if I leave it there.

Set in London and Venice, the settings, characters and events are brought vividly to life in Trevor’s unique humorous style. His knowledge of the settings shines through, as does his taste for the food and drinks from these locales! Nothing is ever straightforward for the talented but undiscovered artist who is the heroine for this story and sometimes trying to do the right thing for others can mean potentially harming your own chances for living happily ever after. Don’t get me wrong, whilst the story is filled with angst and turmoil it is also a journey through difficulties, always looking for the positives and packed with funny one-liners to have readers giggling.

I’m pleased to also say one of the stars of this story is Gilbert, a friendly, loyal and always hungry chocolate Labrador. There are other key characters and I have to say I really didn’t like one of them to start with (I even complained about her to the author via twitter) but keep reading and, like me, you’ll probably find you’ll change your mind about her at about 56% through the story. I could cast some of the characters as the equivalent to Buttons, the Fairy Godmother and Prince Charming – but there’s no glass slipper, magical spells or incantations or even evil step sisters, it is a great story in its own right and definitely a new favourite I’ll re-read and enjoy again and again in future. I loved escaping back to Venice and, even if you’ve never been, it is brought vividly to life in the pages of the book which could have you dreaming of visiting, too! 

For me this is another winner, one I’ve no hesitation in highly recommending it to anyone who enjoys well crafted, enthralling and enchanting reads and I’m very grateful to have been gifted a copy without obligation via NetGalley. This is my honest opinion after enjoying reading it. I’ll definitely continue to look out for more from this author in future!

Author Information

My name is Trevor Williams. I write under the androgynous name T A Williams because 65% of books are read by women. In my first book, “Dirty Minds” one of the (female) characters suggests the imbalance is due to the fact that men spend too much time getting drunk and watching football. I couldn’t possibly comment. Ask my wife…

My background, before taking up writing full time, was in teaching and I was principal of a big English language school for many years. This involved me in travelling all over the world and my love of foreign parts is easy to find in my books. I speak a few languages and my Italian wife and I still speak Italian together.

I’ve written all sorts: thrillers, historical novels, short stories and now I’m enjoying myself hugely writing humour and romance. My most recent books are the What happens… series. What happens in Tuscany reached #1 in the Amazon.uk Romantic Comedy chart and What Happens on the Beach, the last in the series, came out in July. Chasing Shadows is still romance, but with the added spice of a liberal helping of medieval history, one of my pet hobbies. I do a lot of cycling and I rode all the way to Santiago de Compostela on a bike a few years back. This provided both the inspiration and the background research for Chasing Shadows.

I’m originally from Exeter, and I’ve lived all over Europe, but now I live in a little village in sleepy Devon, tucked away down here in south west England. I love the place.

Website: http://www.tawilliamsbooks.com/

Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/TAWilliamsbooks

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/TrevorWilliamsBooks

Tour Schedule

Monday 24th April

Ali the Dragon Slayer

Splashes into Books

Tuesday 25th April

Chick Lit Club

Portable Magic

Wednesday 26th April

Being Anne

Palmer’s Page Turners

Thursday 27th April

Rachel’s Random Reads

Scout Finch 75

Friday 28th April

Rae Reads

It Takes a Woman

Saturday 29th April

Grassmonster

Fabulous Book Fiend

Sunday 30th April

Annie’s Book Corner

Monday 1st May

Tales of Yesterday

Bookworms and Shutterbugs

Tuesday 2nd May

The Bookish Fairy Blog

Jera’s Jamboree

Wednesday 3rd May

Blooming Fiction

Jess Hearts Books

Thursday 4th May

The Writing Garnett

Bookloverwormblog

Friday 5th May

Sam’s Book Corner

Kraftireader

Saturday 6th May

What’s Better Than Books

A Daydreamer’s Thoughts

Sunday 7th May

Linda’s Book Bag

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 24, 2017 by in Blog Tour.

Monthly archive of posts

