splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

{Aside} Rating On Goodreads Before You’ve Read It.

I hadn’t come across this until this post alerted me to it. Personally think it is so wrong. If friends highlight aspects of a book which I don’t like, I’m likely to comment on their review but would never dream of rating the book without reading it to see if I agreed with them. To me, that’s fairer than rating something you haven’t read. Maybe Goodreads should be more proactive in these scenarios and ignore/delete such ratings but allow the comments? Controversial and thought provoking. See what you think!

Book ★ Bastion

Fair Warning: Unpopular Opinions Incoming!

I’ve been debating writing this post for quite some time now. I’ve titled it “Unpopular Opinions” for a reason. I’m fully expecting this to spark a bit of discussion and yes, disagreements, but given that we’re all civilized people with strong opinions that are all worthy of merit, I felt more and more compelled to share my thoughts.

I wanted to talk today about the state of Goodreads; in particular a disturbing trend I’ve been witnessing of people maliciously rating books before they’ve actually read them.

For the record, I also take issue with people rating upcoming books that they’re looking forward to 5 stars before the book has even been published, but that’s really not what I want to focus on here. Yes, that equally skews the ratings of any book, but I think it’s more pressing that we talk about the…

View original post 1,451 more words

4 comments on “{Aside} Rating On Goodreads Before You’ve Read It.

  1. Carrie
    May 7, 2017

    I’ve seen a lot of the rating without reading around Goodreads and can’t figure out why anyone would use the site that way but perhaps they just don’t understand what they are actually doing. There’s a few authors I like that others don’t and there’s always a bunch of 1 stars for those immediately and then the same goes with upcoming anticipated books where tons rate it 5 star before it’s out. Not much they can do though I suppose so I always look for those reviews that seem they’ve actually read a copy.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. bicted
    May 7, 2017

    I’d spotted a few books where I’d had an ARC that others had appeared to rate but not review but hadn’t realised it was getting to be such a problem for authors and those actually seeking honest opinions on books. Seems very lazy of the people doing it – they’re reinforcing the views of others, acting like sheep, without bothering to read the books for themselves to see if they actually agree with the views of others, be that giving a 1 or 5* rating. I know I will often choose not to request a book that friends haven’t enjoyed but I would never dream of rating the book without at least trying to read it – and, like you, I always try to be very honest in both my review and rating.

    Like

  3. madbooklove
    May 9, 2017

    Honestly, I had no idea anything like that occurred. Probably because it would never occur to me personally to do something like that, especially not to be malicious. I will say that if I read an ARC well ahead of publication, I rate it as soon as I finish it, but I don’t add my review until the publication date. And now I’m really bummed because I know I’ve passed over on books I was interested in because of the overall rating, including The Black Witch. The rating got so low that I didn’t even bother reading any of the reviews. Now I’m going to go add it back to my TBR and I’m going to have to rethink my approach to using Goodreads (not as a reviewer, but as a book consumer).

    Liked by 1 person

    • bicted
      May 10, 2017

      I wouldn’t do it either, and nor would most people I know. It is just so wrong and, in my opinion, reflects badly on the perpetrators, too. Just sad that it also affects the ratings of authors because of ratings and comments left by people who haven’t even had the decency to read the books themselves.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 7, 2017 by in Adult, Factual and tagged , , .

Monthly archive of posts

