splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

Review: Full Count by Lynn Stevens

Series: Westland University #3

Title: Full Count by Lynn Stevens

Author: Lynn Stevens

Publisher:  Entangled Embrace, Entangled Publishing

Published: June 19th, 2017

Pages: 269

Rating: 4/5

My Review:

Talk about teenage angst and turmoil – this YA romance is packed with it – even when you’re near the end, it doesn’t feel like things can work out happily! Aaron Betts thought he’d got his future sorted – great girlfriend and a real chance of going pro in the sport he loves – then it all came a-tumbling down. His girlfriend cheated on him, he sustained a serious knee injury and, to top it all off, one of his professors told him he was in danger of failing his class. That’s when he was told to get a tutor – Mallory Fine. She’s a feisty, no nonsense, determined young lady who really wants nothing to do with a player like Aaron. So why are they so attracted to each other? With so many temptations around, can they keep to the straight and narrow or will they fall by the wayside? Will he overcome her very real negative views on sportsmen?

Life is certainly throwing some serious challenges their way in this fast paced story which explores many issues in a realistic manner, demonstrating how temptation and trusting the wrong person can lead to your downfall… The finale is very moving and leads the reader with a sense of hope that things can be sorted, even if initial plans have been totally derailed. There are many lessons to be learnt as the story progresses. There are injuries, treachery and disaster, as well as romance in this heartwarming tale which is also a warning to others about the danger of succumbing to temptation and losing your way. I was particularly impressed with how so many tough issues were handled in this story and have no hesitation in recommending it, especially to young adult for whom the advice could be particularly pertinent.

I requested and was gifted a copy of this novel via NetGalley; this is my honest opinion after choosing to read the book.

Synopsis

Anyone who says they’re having the worst day hasn’t met me. My girlfriend cheated, I blew out my knee, and probably trashed my chance of going pro. All in one day. Then my jerk professor tells I’m almost on academic probation.

Awesome. Now I get to find a tutor.

Enter Mallory Fine, quiet, a little intense, and my kind of gorgeous. Who also happens to hate baseball and any guy who plays it.

Hello, curiosity.

I tell myself this will be nothing more than a tutoring relationship. I’m a liar. I want this girl. How hard can her secrets be to unravel? It might be a challenge, but so is getting back on the ball field and I’m determined to make that happen—no matter the cost.

  

Buy Links:    Amazon (UK)         Amazon (US)        Barnes and Noble

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 22, 2017 by in Adult, YA and tagged , , , , , , , , , , .

Monthly archive of posts

