splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

To Provence, With Love by TA Williams #Review

Titles: To Provence, With Love 

Author: TA Williams

Publisher:  HQ Digital

Published: July 12th, 2017

Pages: 384

Rating: 5/5

My Review:

Another brilliant story from one of my favourite authors – simply gorgeous!

Faye Carter is a language teacher who loves teaching but hates the increasing pressure and bureaucracy associated with the job, especially since the school has had a new Head and she’d discovered her partner had been cheating on her. Faye has already published a book and is amazed when she’s contacted by solicitors and offered the opportunity to work with the famous film star, Annabelle Beech, to write her biography. When it turns out this will necessitate her saying in a stunning chateau in Provence for six months, she just can’t believe her luck – or the salary she’ll be earning! A visit to the chateau for an interview gives her the courage to resign her post and make the move. She makes a new friend on her arrival –  Marlon, a lovely Labrador belonging to Miss Beech, who usually barks vociferously at strangers but who greets Faye as if she’s a long lost friend from the very start.

The area of Provence where most of the story is based is brought vividly to life, especially the countryside, its sights, sounds and people which Faye discovers whilst taking Marlon for walks. He also re-introduces her to his brother, George, and his owner, Gavin, who owns the neighbouring farm and is still grieving from personal tragedies. The author slowly reveals more about the characters as Faye gets to know and interact with them all, sharing the knowledge at a realistic pace, making the story all that much more believable. The interactions between them all run the whole gamut of emotions at different times and you’re aware there are secrets being kept by so many of them, waiting to be revealed. There are delicious meals described that will make your mouth water, we could all do with a Claudette in our lives! The whole community is brought to life in this peaceful, calm and relaxing story of loves, past and present, relationships, grief and new beginnings. As usual for one of Trevor’s books, I loved it from start to finish. He skilfully brings the people, places, communities, food and events to life, making them real in the imagination of his readers. I have no hesitation in highly recommending this book – and all the others I’ve read by this highly talented author -as well as love, lavender and two Labradors, it has beautiful scenery, delicious food and, of course, a brill story!

I requested and was given a copy of this book via NetGalley and this is my honest opinion after choosing to read it.

Synopsis

Escape to the south of France with this perfect feel-good summer romance!

Anything is possible…

Struggling writer Faye Carter just can’t believe her luck. She’s off to Provence to write the autobiography of a famous film star and she’ll be staying in the stunning chateau!

So when she meets charming (and completely gorgeous) lavender farmer, Gavin, she knows that she’s made the right choice – even if glamourous, elderly Anabelle seems to be hiding something…

But when the sun is shining, the food is delicious and the air smells of honey, anything seems possible. Will the magic of Provence help Faye finally find a happy-ever-after of her own?

Perfect for fans of Zara Stoneley, Mandy Baggot and Caroline Roberts.

Praise for T. A. Williams:

‘Pure joy. One of my favourite T. A. Williams books of all time!’ – Rachel Gilbey (top 500 Amazon reviewer)

‘A great light-hearted read!’ – Miss S. A. Coles (top 1,000 Amazon reviewer)

‘A wonderful romantic tale that takes you on a picturesque, life-changing journey.’ – Adele B (Netgalley reviewer)

‘Majestic scenery, intriguing history and scrumptious food. A delightful story.’ – What’s Better Than Books

‘T. A. Williams has absolutely backed up that men can write chick-lit.’ ─ Reviewed The Book (Top 1000 Amazon Reviewer)

‘Absolutely breathtaking.’ – Lu Dex (NetGalley reviewer)

Buy Links:    Amazon (UK)         Amazon (US)       

Advertisements

2 comments on “To Provence, With Love by TA Williams #Review

  1. carhicks
    July 13, 2017

    Great review. Sounds wonderful.

    Like

    • bicted
      July 13, 2017

      IMHO it really is a wonderful read! I love the way Trevor intimate knowledge of a location, the customs and attitudes of the locals always shine through in his books. You’ll feel hungry at some of the food descriptions, the characters are great and I loved the plot development. Hope you get to read it and enjoy it as much as I did!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Monthly archive of posts

%d bloggers like this: