splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

Cocktails and Dreams by AL Michael #Review #Romance

Series:  Martini Club #1

Title: Cocktails and Dreams

Author: AL Michael

Publisher:  Canelo

Published: May 23rd, 2017

Pages: 209

Rating: 5/5

My Review:

The story starts with the end of her relationship with her boyfriend of nine years but moves on from potential heartbreak to new experiences and a world of possibilities. Having been taken on tour with her rock star mother for most of her life, when she is seven years old Savvy asks for a normal life and her Mum literally dumps her with her aunt. The two have had little interaction since then. Now Savvy works at a burlesque club with some fantastic characters who encourage her to develop her own cooking and cocktail making skills, especially after meeting Milo, a bartender at a different club. As she puts her sensitive palate to the test she learns more about life, love, friends and family – though the return of her Mum puts everything under threat . . . or does it really give her another opportunity?

The growth and development of many of the characters in this story is superb. The novel has a heartwarming plot brought to life in the first book in a new series by this highly talented author. I enjoyed her ventures into checking out other venues, her relationships with others and her developing strength and resolve.  I found it a moving, funny and entertaining novel and I can’t wait to read more in this series in future and, hopefully, to discover how life progresses for Savvy in the process! I have no hesitation in highly recommending this delightful read to anyone who enjoys well crafted contemporary romance with great character development and even a cocktail recipe to indulge yourself with!

I requested and was given a copy of this book via NetGalley and this is my honest opinion after choosing to read it.

Synopsis

A heart-warming novel with characters you’ll love, don’t miss this first in a new series for romance, laugh-out-loud comedy and a feel-good ending. Perfect for fans of Mhairi McFarlane and Lindsey Kelk. 

I was seven years old when I realized my mother was not a great person…

Since Savvy was abandoned by her rockstar mother, she has craved a normal life. But after years of financing her boyfriend’s lacklustre career, he leaves her when he hits the bigtime. 

Savvy’s friends at the burlesque club where she serves elaborate cocktails encourage her to make bold changes in her life. She soon meets handsome bartender Milo, and she begins to plan a future she can be excited about. 

But when Savvy’s estranged mother crashes back into her life, her newfound happiness is under threat… will Savvy have the courage to pursue her dreams?

See inside for a delicious cocktail recipe and book club questions! 

Buy Links:    Amazon (UK)         Amazon (US)      

One comment on “Cocktails and Dreams by AL Michael #Review #Romance

  1. Pingback: Martinis and Memories by AL Michael #Review #Reflective #Series | splashesintobooks

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Information

This entry was posted on August 14, 2017 by in Adult and tagged , , , , , , , , , , .

Monthly archive of posts

%d bloggers like this: